72
  • Emailarticle
  • Writecomment

April - May 2011 Art, Culture, and Events

Your Chicago guide to the best museums, galleries, and events in Chicago

By
MUSEUMS

   Art Institute of Chicago (111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-443-3600/ artic.edu) presents New Galleries for African Art and Indian Art of the Americas opening April 18. 
 
   Chicago Architecture Foundation (224 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-922-3432/caf.architecture.org) conducts boat, bus, walking, youth and group tours of the city. 
 
   Chicago Botanic Garden (1000 Lake Cook Rd., Glencoe/ 847-835-5440/chicago botanic.org) presents 24 spectacular gardens on 385 acres. 
 
   Chicago Cultural Center (78 E. Washington St., Chicago/312-744-6630/explore chicago.org) presents Louis Sullivan’s Idea through May 2.
 
   Chicago History Museum (1601 N. Clark St., Chicago/312-642-4600/ chicagohs.org) presents Lincoln’s Chicago.
 
   Field Museum (1400 S. Lake Shore Dr., Chicago/ 312-922-9410/fieldmuseum.org) hosts Whales: Giants of the Deep, May 20-Jan.16. 
 
   Hyde Park Art Center (5020 S. Cornell Ave., Chicago/ 773-324-5520/hydeparkart.com) presents The Havana Project through June 12. 
 
   Illinois Holocaust Museum and Education Center (9603 Woods Drive, Skokie/ 847-967-4800/ilholocaustmuseum.org) presents  Beyond Swastika and Jim Crow: Jewish Refugee Scholars at Black Colleges through May 31.
 
   International Museum of Surgical Science (1524 N. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/ 312-642-6502/imss.org) presents Surgicogenomics: Genes and Stem  Cells in Surgery. 
 
   Intuit: The Center for Intuitive and Outsider Art (756 N. Milwaukee Ave., Chicago/ 312-243-9088/ art.org) is showing Architecture of Hope: The Treasures of Intuit through May 14.
 
   Kohl Children’s Museum of Greater Chicago (2100 Patriot Blvd., Glenview/ 847-832-6600/kohlchildrensmuseum.org) presents Pattern in Wizardry through May 9.
 
   Loyola University Museum of Art (820 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-915-6394/luc. edu/luma) presents Eric Gill: Iconographer and De Humanum: The Collages of Balint Zsako through May 1.
 
 
   Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University (40 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston/847-491-4000/blockmuseum.northwestern.edu) presents “I Myself Have Seen It: Photography and Kiki Smith” through August 14.
 
   Mitchell Museum of the American Indian (3001 Central Street, Evanston/ 847-475-1030/mitchellmuseum.org) presents Through the Eyes of Eagles: Illustrating Healthy Living for Children through May 22. 
 
   Morton Arboretum (4100 Illinois Route 53, Lisle/ 630-968-0074/mortonarb.org) celebrates Arbor Day April 29-May 1.
 
   Museum of Contemporary Art (220 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago/ 312-280-2660/mca chicago.org) presents Urban China: Informal Character through May 29. 
 
   Museum of Contemporary Photography (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-663-5554 /mocp.org) presents u-n-f-o-l-d: A Cultural Response to Climate Change through April 23. 
 
  Museum of Science and Industry (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-663-5554/msi chicago.org) reopens Smart Home: Green & Wired on April 22.
 
   Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum (2430 N. Cannon Drive, Chicago/ 773-755-5100/ chias.org) presents Nature’s Architects through August 7. 
 
   Smart Museum of Art (5550 S. Greenwood Ave., Chicago/ 773-702-0200/smartmuseum. com) presents Warhol at Work: Portrait Snapshots  1973-1986 May 10-Aug 21. 
 
   Spertus Museum (610 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-322-1700/spertus.edu/ museum) presents Uncovered & Rediscovered: Stories of Jewish Chicago. 

MUSIC & THEATER

   American Theater Company (ATC)(1909 W. Byron, Chicago/773-409-4125/atcweb.org) presents The Original Grease from April 21-June 5. 
 
   Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University(50 E. Congress Parkway, Chicago/800-982-ARTS/auditorium theatre.com) presents River North Chicago Dance Co., April 16; Don Quixote, April 21-23; Joffrey Ballet, May 4-15.    
 
   Briar Street Theater (3133 N. Halsted Street, Chicago/ 773-348-4000/blueman.com) presents a new and updated Blue Man Group showcasing technogeek ingenuity. 
 
   Chicago Dramatists (1105 W. Chicago Ave., Chicago/312-633-0630/chicagodramatists.org) presents Hickorydickory May 5- June 12. 
 
   Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier (800 E. Grand Ave., Chicago/312-595-5600/ chicagoshakes.com) presents The Madness of King George III April 13-June 12. 
 
   Chicago Theater (175 N. State Street/ 312-902-1500/thechicagotheatre.com) presents Paul Simon on May 17; Jethro Tull on June 26. 
 
   Court Theatre (5535 S. Ellis Ave., Chicago/ 773-753-4472/courttheatre.org) presents Porgy & Bess May 12-June 19.
 
   Drury Lane Theatre 630-530-0111/ 100  Drury Lane, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook/ drurylaneoakbrook.com) presents Aida through May 29.
 
   Goodman Theatre (170 N. Dearborn St., Chicago/312-443-3800/goodmantheatre.org) presents El Nogalar through April 24. God of Carnage runs through April 17. 
 
   Harris Theater (205 E. Randolph St., Chicago/ 312-334-7777/harristheaterchicago. org) presents Music of the Baroque: Handel Messiah HWV 56; Chicago Opera Theater: Death and the Powers—A Robots’ Opera.  
 
   LookingGlass Theatre (821 N. Michigan Ave./312-337-0665/lookingglasstheatre.org) presents Ethan Frome through April 17.      
 
 Northlight Theatre (9501 Skokie Blvd., Skokie/ 847-673-6300/ northlight.org) presents The Outgoing Tide featuring John Mahoney May 12-June 19. 
 
   Porchlight Music Theatre (1225 W. Belmont, Chicago/773-327-5252/porchlighttheatre.com) presents The King and I April 22- June 5. 
 
   A Red Orchid Theatre (1531 N. Wells Street, Chicago/312-943-8722/orchidtheatre. org) presents Machiavelli’s The Mandrake April 8-May 24.  
 
   Writers’ Theatre (325 Tudor Court, Glencoe/847-242-6000/writerstheatre.org) presents Heartbreak House by George Bernard Shaw April 19-June 26. 

GALLERIES

   Ann Nathan Gallery (212 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-664-6622/annnathan gallery.com) presents figurative art and realism. 
 
   Carl Hammer Gallery (740 N. Wells St., Chicago/312-266-8512/hammergallery.com) presents Cameron Gray, POP! April 15-May 28. 
 
   Catherine Edelman Gallery (300 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-266-2350/edelmangallery. com) presents Steve Schapiro through April 30. 
 
   David Weinberg Photography (300 W. Superior/Chicago/312-529-5090/D-weinberg. com) presents Mr. Wild’s Garden through May 27. 
 
   Echt Gallery (222 W. Superior St., Chicago /312-440-0268/echtgallery.com) presents work by Gregory Grenon through April 23. 
 
   Gallery KH (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-642-0202/gallerykh.com) presents photos by Robert Berlin. April 15-June 1.
 
   Jean Albano Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-440-0770/jeanalbano gallery.com) presents The Paper Show featuring Peter Skvara through April 17. 
 
  Josef Glimer Gallery, Ltd. (207 W. Superior Street/Chicago /312-787-4640/josefglimergallery. com) presents Thom Kapheim April 16- May 15. 
 
    Ken Saunders Gallery, Ltd (230 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-573-1400/ kensaunders gallery. com) presents Seattle Reigns through April 30. 
 
  Linda Warren Gallery (1052 W. Fulton Market, Chicago/312-432-9500/lindawarren gallery.com) presents Megan Euker from April 15.   
 
   Maya Polsky Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-440-0055/mayapolsky gallery.com) presents Nikita Gashunn: A Memorial Exhibit through May 10. 
 
   Perimeter Gallery (210 W. Superior, Chicago/ 312-266-9473/perimetergallery.com) presents Erik Weisenburger April 22 through May 27. 
 
   Printworks Gallery (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-664- 9407/printworkschicago. com) presents Ellen Lanyon through May 14. 
 
   Rhona Hoffman Gallery (118 N. Peoria, Chicago, 312-455-1990/rhoffmangallery.com) presents Huma Bhabha: Huma Bhabha through May 7. 
 
    Roy Boyd Gallery (739 N. Wells Street, Chicago/312-642-1606/royboydgallery.com) presents Gallery Artists including New Sculpture by Joel Perlman. 
 
    Russell Bowman Art Advisory (311 W. Superior, Chicago/312-751-9500/bowmanart. com). Vivian Maier, Photographer, April 15- June 18.
 
   Schneider Gallery (230 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-988-4033/schneidergallery.com) presents The Reality of Illusion April 29-June 25. 
 
   Zg Gallery (300 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-654-9900/zggallery.com) presents Bill Frederick, Concrete Island: New Paintings. 
 
   Zolla/Lieberman Gallery Inc. (325 W. Huron Street, Chicago/ 312-944-1990/zolla liebermangallery.com) presents Cheonae Kim: Vignette through April 30. 

SPECIAL EVENTS

     Bach Week Festival  Evanston’s Bach Week Festival offers diverse work by Bach as well as music celebrating the April 29 royal wedding of England’s Prince William and Kate Middleton April 29 and May 1 at 7:30 at the Nichols Concert Hall, 1490 Chicago Ave., Evanston. (847) 293-6686. bachweek.org.
 
    Barrington Antique and Garden Show (www.icehousemall.com) is April 28- May 1 at the Icehouse Mall in Barrington. Admission is free. 847-756-4174
 
    Neocon® 2011. June 13-15. /neocon. com). See the latest design trends, products, and concepts in office, healthcare, hospitality, residential, institutional and government interior environments at the Merchandise Mart. 800- 677-6278.
 
    Art Chicago| NEXT  Merchandise Mart, will be held April 29- May 2. The international fair for contemporary art will host a studio visit series, panel discussions and exhibitions by art galleries from all over the world. The opening preview will take place Thursday evening, April 28. Friday-Monday adult multi-pass tickets can be purchased for $25. artchicago.com.

Published: April 10, 2011
Issue: 2011 Spring Issue