72
  • Emailarticle
  • Writecomment

December 2011 - January 2012 Art, Culture, and Events

Your Chicago guide to the best museums, galleries, and events in Chicago

By
Museums

Art Institute of Chicago (111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-443-3600artic.edu) presents Bertrand Goldberg: Architecture of Invention through Jan. 15.

Chicago Architecture Foundation (224 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-922-3432/caf.architecture.org) conducts 85 different walking, bus and boat tours throughout Chicago. 
 
Chicago Botanic Garden (1000 Lake Cook Rd., Glencoe/ 847-835-5440/chicago botanic.org) presents 24 spectacular gardens on 385 acres. Wonderland Express exhibition of miniature trains winding through replicas of Chicago landmarks.
 
Chicago Cultural Center (78 E. Washington St., Chicago/312-744-6630/explore chicago.org) presents free music, dance and theater, films, lectures, art exhibitions and family events. Write Now: Artists and Letterforms through April.
 
Chicago History Museum (1601 N. Clark, Chicago/312-642-4600chicagohs.org) presents Lincoln’s Chicago; Out in Chicago. Charles James: Genius Deconstructed through April 16.
 
DePaul Art Museum (935 W. Fullerton, http://museums.depaul.edu/artwebsite/) The DePaul Art Museum’s new $7.8 million home presents “Re: Chicago.” The exhibition, which will run through Feb. 2012, examines the careers of Chicago artists over more than a century.
 
Field Museum (1400 S. Lake Shore Dr., Chicago/ 312-922-9410/fieldmuseum.org) hosts Whales: Giants of the Deep through Jan. 16. Restoring Earth – new permanent exhibit.
 
Hyde Park Art Center (5020 S. Cornell Ave., Chicago/ 773-324-5520/hydeparkart. com) presents Kay Rosen: Don’t Look Back through April 15.
 
Illinois Holocaust Museum and Education Center  (9603 Woods Drive, Skokie/ 847-967-4800/ilholocaustmuseum.org) presents The Art of Gaman: Art and Crafts from the Japanese American
Internment Camp, 1942-1946 through Jan. 15.
 
International Museum of Surgical Science (1524 N. Lake Shore
Drive, Chicago/ 312-642-6502/imss.org) presents Surgicogenomics: Genes and Stem Cells in Surgery. Body of Work: The Excavating History Collective in Residence through Dec. 31.
 
Intuit: The Center for Intuitive and Outsider Art (756 N. Milwaukee Ave., Chicago/ 312-243-9088art.org) presents You Better Be Listening: Text in Self-Taught Art through Jan. 14. Eugene Von Bruenchenhein: From the Wand of the Genii through Jan. 14.

Kohl Children’s Museum of Greater Chicago (2100 Patriot Blvd., Glenview/ 847-832-6600/kohlchildrensmuseum.org) presents Science & You through Dec. 30.
 
Loyola University Museum of Art (820 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-915-6394/luc. edu/luma) presents Art and Faith of the Creche: The Collection of James and Govan through Jan. 15. The Hanukkah Lamp: Modern Style and the Jewish Experience through Jan. 15.
 
Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University (40 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston/847-491-4000/blockmuseum. northwestern.edu) presents They Were Fighting for our Freedom: American and Soviet Propaganda Posters of WWII through Mar 19.

Morton Arboretum (4100 Illinois Route 53, Lisle/ 630-968-0074/mortonarb.org) presents chamber concert series and Breakfast with Santa.
 
Museum of Contemporary Art (220 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago/ 312-280-2660/mca chicago.org) presents The Language of Less (Then and Now), through April 8.
 
Museum of Contemporary Photography (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-663-5554mocp.org) presents Crime Unseen through Jan. 15.
 
Museum of Science and Industry (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-663-5554/msi chicago.org) presents Smart Home: Green & Wired through Jan. 8; Tornado Alley through Dec. 31.
 
Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum (2430 N. Cannon Drive, Chicago/ 773-755-5100chias.org) presents Architecture by Birds and Insects through Oct. 23. Eww! What’s Eating You? Through Jan. 29.
 
Smart Museum of Art (5550 S. Greenwood Ave., Chicago/ 773-702-0200/smartmuseum. com) presents Vision and Communism through Jan. 22.
 
Spertus Museum (610 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-322-1700/spertus.edu/ museum) presents Uncovered & Rediscovered: Stories of Jewish Chicago through Dec. 2012.

Theatre

Apollo Theater (2540 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-935-6100/apollochicago.com) presents the Million Dollar Quartet.
 
Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University (50 E. Congress Parkway, Chicago/800-982-ARTS/auditorium theatre.com) presents  The Joffrey Ballet, The Nutcracker, Dec. 9-27.
 
Briar Street Theater (3133 N. Halsted Street, Chicago/ 773-348-4000/blueman.com) presents a new and updated Blue Man Group showcasing technogeek ingenuity.
 
Broadway in Chicago (312-977-1717broadwayinchicago.com) is a touring company that presents a large selection of musicals and plays in the Chicago Theater District.  
 
Chicago Dramatists (1105 W. Chicago Ave, Chicago/312-633-0630/chicagodramatists.org) presents Blizzard 67. Jan. 15-Feb 12.
 
Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier (800 E. Grand Ave., Chicago/312-595-5600chicagoshakes.com) presents Elizabeth Rex through Jan. 22.
 
Chicago Theatre (175 N. State Street/ 312-902-1500/thechicagotheatre.com) presents A Christmas Story, The Musical: Dec. 14-30. 
 
Court Theatre (5535 S. Ellis Ave, Chicago/ 773-753-4472/courttheatre.org) presents Invisible Man, Jan. 12 - Feb. 19.
 
Drury Lane Theatre 630-530-0111/ 100  Drury Lane, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook/ drurylaneoakbrook.com) presents Sound of Music through Jan. 8.
 
Goodman Theatre (170 N. Dearborn St., Chicago/312-443-3800/goodmantheatre.org) presents A Christmas Carol through Dec. 31.
 
Harris Theater (205 E. Randolph St., Chicago/ 312-334-7777/harristheaterchicago. org) presents a world-class repertoire of music and dance. Chicago Children’s Choir performs on Dec. 11. The Chicago Symphony Orchestra performs with Hubbard Street Dance Chicago on Dec. 12. The Apollo Chorus of Chicago will perform Handel’s Messiah on Dec. 18. 
 
Lookingglass Theatre (821 N. Michigan, lookingglasstheatre.org/312-337-0665) presents Mr. Rickey Calls a Meeting beginning Jan. 4. Cascabel starring Rick Bayless Mar. 21 - April 22.
 
Marriott Theatre (10 Marriott Drive, Lincolnshire/847-634-0200marriottheatre.com) presents Irving Berlin’s White Christmas through Jan. 1.
 
Mercury Theater (3745 N. Southport Ave., Chicago/773/325/1700/mercurytheaterchicago.com) presents The Christmas Schooner through Dec. 31.

Northlight Theatre (9501 Skokie Blvd., Skokie/ 847-673-6300northlight.org) presents Season’s Greetings through Dec. 18.
 
The Paramount Theatre (23 E. Galena Blvd, Aurora/630-896-6666/paramountaurora. com) presents A Chorus Line, Jan. 18-Feb. 5.
 
Porchlight Music Theatre (2814 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-325-9884/porchlighttheatre. com) presents A Catered Affair, Feb. 17-April 1.
 
Profiles Theatre (4147 N. Broadway, Chicago/ 773-549-1815/profilestheatre.org) presents Assisted Living through Dec. 18.
 
Raven Theatre Company (6157 N. Clark St, Chicago/773-338-2177/raventheatre.com) presents The Price, Feb. 28-April 14.
 
Royal George Theatre (1641 North Halsted, Chicago/312-988-9000/royalgeorgetheatre. com) presents MAESTRO: The Art of Leonard Bernstein through Dec. 30.
 
Steppenwolf Theatre Company (1650 N. Halsted St., Chicago/312-335-1650/steppenwolf. org) presents Penelope through Feb. 5.
 
TimeLine Theatre (615 W. Wellington, Chicago/773-281-8463/timelinetheatre.com) presents Enron, Jan. 17-April 15.
 
Victory Gardens (2433 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-871-3000/victorygardens.org) presents Ameriville Jan. 27-Feb. 26.
 
Writers’ Theatre (325 Tudor Court, Glencoe  /847-242-6000/writerstheatre.org) presents The Caretaker by Harold Pinter through Mar. 25.

Galleries

Aaron Galleries (2011 Tower Drive, 
Glenview/847-724-0660/aarongalleries.com) specializes in fine 19th and 20th century American paintings and prints.
 
Ann Nathan Gallery (212 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-664-6622/annnathan gallery.com) presents figurative art and realism.
 
The Arts Club of Chicago (201 E. Ontario, Chicago/312-787-3997/artsclubchicago.com) presents Bertrand Goldberg: Reflections through Jan. 13.
 
Carl Hammer Gallery (740 N. Wells, Chicago /312-266-8512/hammergallery.com) presents CJ Pyle, Skin Deep, New Drawings through Dec. 30.
 
Catherine Edelman Gallery (300 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-266-2350/edelman gallery. com) presents Gary Briechle, Photographs, through Dec. 31.
 
Carrie Secrist Gallery (835 W. Washington Blvd, Chicago/312-491-0917/secristgallery. com) presents Derek Chan, Dec. 9- Jan. 15.
 
Chicago Art Dealers Association (chicagoartdealers.org) presents First Thursdays. Galleries open till 7:00 pm, River North.
 
Douglas Dawson Gallery (400 N. Morgan St/Chicago/312-226-7975/douglasdawson. com) specializes in ancient and historic art from Africa, Asia and the Americas.
 
Echt Gallery (222 W. Superior, Chicago /312- 440-0268/echtgallery.com) features the glass work of international artists like Dale Chihuly and Klaus Moje.
 
Gallery KH (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago /312-642-0202/gallerykh.com) presents Francine Turk, Badass; Group Show Landscapes opens Jan.
 
Jean Albano Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-440-0770/jeanalbano gallery.com) presents Groupings, gallery artists, through Dec. 31.
 
Hinge Gallery (1955 W. Chicago/ Chicago/ 312-291-9313/hingegallery.com) presents emerging contemporary artists.
 
Judy A. Saslow Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/312-943-0530/jsaslowgallery.com) presents Michael Noland; David Lee Csicska through Dec. 30.
 
Ken Saunders Gallery, Ltd (230 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-573-1400/ kensaunders gallery. com) presents Carmen Lozar; Hiroshi Yamano.
 
Linda Warren Gallery (1052 W. Fulton Market, Chicago/312-432-9500/lindawarren gallery. com) presents Emmett Kerrigan and Lora Fosberg in Grand Opening Exhibitions at 327 N. Aberdeen.
 
Packer Schopf Gallery (942 W. Lake, Chicago/312-226-8984/packergallery.com) presents Chris Bathgate—New Machined Works – Metal Sculpture; Kathy Halper—Friend Me—Embroidery through Jan. 7
 
Maya Polsky Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-440-0055/mayapolsky gallery.com) presents contemporary fine art.
 
Noyes Cultural Art Center Gallery (927 Noyes Street, Evanston/847-448-8620) presents Painted Journeys by Peggy Macnamara and Elizabeth Ockwell through Jan. 15.
 
Perimeter Gallery (210 W. Superior, Chicago/ 312-266-9473/perimetergallery.com) presents James Smith (Installation); Charles Kurre (Painting).
 
Printworks Gallery (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-664-9407/printworkschicago. com) presents Riva Lehrer Dec. 2-Feb. 4.
 
The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago (5811 S. Ellis Avenue, Bergman Gallery, Chicago/773-702-8670/renaissancesociety.org) presents Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven In a Saturnian World through 
Dec. 18.

Rhona Hoffman Gallery (118 N. Peoria, Chicago, 312-455-1990/rhoffmangallery.com) presents Robert Overby Dec. 9-21.
 
Roy Boyd Gallery (739 N. Wells, Chicago/ 312-642-1606/royboydgallery.com) presents William Steiger: Rolling Stock through 
Dec. 30.
 
Russell Bowman Art Advisory (311 W. Superior, Chicago/312-751-9500/bowmanart. com) presents Respect: Thornton Dial and Gee’s Bend through Jan. 28.
 
Schneider Gallery (230 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-988-4033/schneidergallery.com) presents Photography as Objects through 
Dec. 31.
 
Zg Gallery (300 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-654-9900/zggallery.com) presents Jackie Tileston: Parastrata: New Paintings.

Zolla/Lieberman Gallery Inc. (325 W. Huron Street, Chicago/ 312-944-1990/zolla liebermangallery.com) presents Jamie Adams through Jan. 21.

Special Events

Caroling at Cloud Gate. Sing-alongs with Chicago choral groups on Fridays at 6 p.m. through Dec. 16.
 
Ice Skating in Chicago. Grant Park Ice Skating Rink and Millennium Park Ice Skating Rink open through Feb.

Published: December 04, 2011
Issue: 2011 Philanthropy Issue