72
  • Emailarticle
  • Writecomment

February 2012 - March 2012 Art, Culture, and Events

Your Chicago guide to the best museums, galleries, and events in Chicago

By
MUSEUMS

Art Institute of Chicago (111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-443-3600/ artic.edu) presents Light Years through Mar. 4; Sharon Hayes through Mar. 11; Animals Around the World through April 22.

Chicago Architecture Foundation (224 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-922-3432/caf.architecture.org) conducts over 85 different walking, bus and boat tours throughout Chicago.
 
Chicago Botanic Garden (1000 Lake Cook Rd., Glencoe/ 847-835-5440/chicago botanic.org) presents 24 spectacular gardens on 385 acres. Antiques and Garden Fair April 20-22.
 
Chicago Cultural Center (78 E. Washington St., Chicago/312-744-6630/explore chicago.org) presents free music, dance and theater, films, lectures, art exhibitions and family events. Write Now: Artists and Letterforms through April.
 
Chicago History Museum (1601 N. Clark, Chicago/312-642-4600/ chicagohs.org) presents Lincoln’s Chicago; Out in Chicago. Charles James: Genius Deconstructed through April 16.
 
DePaul Art Museum (935 W. Fullerton, http://museums.depaul.edu/artwebsite/) The DePaul Art Museum’s new $7.8 million home presents “Re: Chicago” through Mar. 4. Studio Malick Mar. 29-June 3.
 
Field Museum (1400 S. Lake Shore Dr., Chicago/ 312-922-9410/fieldmuseum.org) hosts Restoring Earth—new permanent exhibit.
 
Hyde Park Art Center (5020 S. Cornell Ave., Chicago/ 773-324-5520/hydeparkart. com) presents Kit Wise: Arcadia through April 8; Someone Else’s Dream through April 29.
 
Illinois Holocaust Museum and Education Center  (9603 Woods Drive, Skokie/ 847-967-4800/ilholocaustmuseum.org) presents the Karkomi  Permanent Exhibition which tells the story of the Holocaust with more than 500 artifacts, documents and photographs.
 
International Museum of Surgical Science (1524 N. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/ 312-642-6502/imss.org) presents Surgicogenomics: Genes and Stem Cells in Surgery.
 
Intuit: The Center for Intuitive and Outsider Art (756 N. Milwaukee Ave., Chicago/ 312-243-9088/ art.org) presents Heaven + Hell, in collaboration with the Loyola University Museum of Art, Feb. 10 through June 30.
 
Kohl Children’s Museum of Greater Chicago (2100 Patriot Blvd., Glenview/ 847-832-6600/kohlchildrensmuseum.org) presents Sonic Sensation through May 10.
 
Loyola University Museum of Art (820 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-915-6394/luc. edu/luma) presents Heaven+ Hell, Feb. 10 through June 30.
 
Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University (40 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston/847-491-4000/blockmuseum. northwestern.edu) presents They Were Fighting for our Freedom: American and Soviet Propaganda Posters of WWII through Mar 19.
 
Morton Arboretum (4100 Illinois Route 53, Lisle/ 630-968-0074/mortonarb.org) presents Celebrating Chocolate, weekends in Feb.
 
Museum of Contemporary Art (220 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago/ 312-280-2660/mca chicago.org) presents The Language of Less (Then and Now), through April 8.
 
Museum of Contemporary Photography (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-663-5554/ mocp.org) presents The Limits of Photography through Mar. 25.
 
Museum of Science and Industry (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-663-5554/msi chicago.org) presents Mythbusters: the Explosive Exhibition, Mar. 15-Sept. 3.
 
Noyes Cultural Art Center Gallery (927 Noyes Street, Evanston/847-448-8620) presents art exhibits curated by Chie Curley and Barbara Goldsmith.
 
Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum (2430 N. Cannon Drive, Chicago/ 773-755-5100/ chias.org) presents The Lost Panoramas: When Chicago changed its River and the Land Beyond, through April 29.
 
Smart Museum of Art (5550 S. Greenwood Ave., Chicago/ 773-702-0200/smartmuseum. com) presents Feast: Radical Hospitality in Contemporary Art, Feb. 16-June 10.
 
Spertus Museum (610 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-322-1700/spertus.edu/ museum) presents Uncovered & Rediscovered: Stories of Jewish Chicago through Dec. 2012.

THEATER

 Apollo Theater (2540 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-935-6100/apollochicago.com) presents the Million Dollar Quartet through May 31.
 
A Red Orchid Theatre (1531 N. Wells, Chicago/ 312-943-8722/aredorchidtheatre.org) presents Megacosm by Brett Neveu through Feb.26.
 
Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University ( 50 E. Congress Parkway, Chicago/ 800-982-ARTS/auditorium theatre.com) presents On the Threshold, Feb. 15-26.
 
American Ballet Theater—Giselle, Mar. 22-25.
 Briar Street Theater (3133 N. Halsted Street, Chicago/ 773-348-4000/blueman.com) presents a new and updated Blue Man Group showcasing technogeek ingenuity.
 
Broadway in Chicago (312-977-1717/ broadwayinchicago.com) is a touring company that presents a large selection of musicals and plays in the Chicago Theater District.
 
Chicago Dramatists (1105 W. Chicago Ave, Chicago/312-633-0630/chicagodramatists.org) presents I Am Going to Change the World, June 3-July 1.
 
Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier (800 E. Grand Ave., Chicago/312-595-5600/ chicagoshakes.com) presents The  Feast: An Intimate  Tempest through Mar. 11.
 
Chicago Theatre (175 N. State Street/ 312-902-1500/thechicagotheatre.com) presents Peter Frampton, Feb. 25. Stephanie Miller’s Sexy Liberal Comedy Tour, Mar. 3.
 
Court Theatre (5535 S. Ellis Ave, Chicago/ 773-753-4472/courttheatre.org) presents Invisible Man through Feb. 19.
 
Drury Lane Theatre 630-530-0111/ 100  Drury Lane, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook/ drurylaneoakbrook.com) presents Gypsy through April 1.
 
Goodman Theatre (170 N. Dearborn St., Chicago/312-443-3800/goodmantheatre.org) presents The Convert, Feb. 25-Mar. 25.
 
Harris Theater (205 E. Randolph St., Chicago/ 312-334-7777/harristheaterchicago. org) presents a world-class repertoire of music and dance. Chicago Jazz Ensemble featuring music of Charlie Parker, Feb. 24. Music of the Baroque Orchestra, Feb. 27.
 
Lookingglass Theatre (821 N. Michigan, lookingglasstheatre.org/312-337-0665) presents Mr. Rickey Calls a Meeting through Feb. 19. Cascabel starring Rick Bayless Mar. 21 -April 22.
 
Marriott Theatre (10 Marriott Drive, Lincolnshire/847-634-0200/ marriottheatre.com) presents Legally Blonde: The Musical, through  April 1.
 
Northlight Theatre (9501 Skokie Blvd., Skokie/ 847-673-6300/ northlight.org) presents Black Pearl Sings through Feb. 19. Ten Chimneys, Mar.9-April 15.
 
The Paramount Theatre (23 E. Galena Blvd, Aurora/630-896-6666/paramountaurora. com) presents Hair, Mar. 14-April 1.
 
Porchlight Music Theatre (2814 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-325-9884/porchlighttheatre. com) presents A Catered Affair, Feb. 18-April 1.
 
Profiles Theatre (4147 N. Broadway, Chicago/ 773-549-1815/profilestheatre.org) presents Bachelorette through Mar. 11.
 
Raven Theatre Company (6157 N. Clark TSt, Chicago/773-338-2177/raventheatre.com) “presents The Price, Feb. 28-April 14. Dating  Walter Dante, Feb. 7-Mar 24.
 
Red Tape Theatre (621 W. Belmont, Chicago/847-738-6919/redtapetheatre.org) presents The  Gingerbread House through March 3.
 
Royal George Theatre (1641 North Halsted, Chicago/312-988-9000/royalgeorgetheatre. com) presents Late Night Catechism and Put the Nuns in Charge through Feb. 25.
 
Steppenwolf Theatre Company (1650 N. Halsted St., Chicago/312-335-1650/steppenwolf. org) presents Time Stands Still through May 13.
 
TimeLine Theatre (615 W. Wellington, Chicago/773-281-8463/timelinetheatre.com) presents Enron through April 15.
 
Victory Gardens (2433 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-871-3000/victorygardens.org) presents Ameriville through Feb. 26.
 
Writers’ Theatre (325 Tudor Court, Glencoe  /847-242-6000/writerstheatre.org) presents The Caretaker by Harold Pinter through Mar. 25.

GALLERIES
 
Carl Hammer Gallery (740 N. Wells, Chicago /312-266-8512/hammergallery.com) has recently added British artist Albert Louden.
 
Catherine Edelman Gallery (300 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-266-2350/edelman gallery. com) presents Viktoria Sorochinski: Anna and Eve, through Feb. 25.
 
Carrie Secrist Gallery (835 W. Washington Blvd, Chicago/312-491-0917/secristgallery. com) presents Holes, A Group Survey, through Feb. 25.
 
Chicago Art Dealers Association (chicagoartdealers.org) presents First Thursdays. Galleries open till 7:00 pm, River North.
 
Gallery KH (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago /312-642-0202/gallerykh.com) presents Rick Stevens: Shaping the Unknown, opening late Feb.
 
Jean Albano Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-440-0770/jeanalbano gallery.com) presents Oldie But Goodie and Something New, through Mar. 3.
 
Judy A. Saslow Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/312-943-0530/jsaslowgallery.com) presents works of Michael Nedjar, Cristine Sefolosha and Gerard Cambon, Feb. 24-April 7.
 
Ken Saunders Gallery, Ltd (230 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-573-1400/ kensaunders gallery. com) presents Carmen Lozar through Mar.
 
Linda Warren Gallery (1052 W. Fulton Market, Chicago/312-432-9500/lindawarren gallery. com) presents Alex O’Neal: Delta Donuts; Nicole Gordon: Asylum through Mar. 10.
 
Printworks Gallery (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-664-9407/printworkschicago. com) presents Eleanor Spiess-Ferris through Mar. 10.
 
The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago (5811 S. Ellis Avenue, Bergman Gallery, Chicago/773-702-8670/renaissancesociety.org) presents Cathy Wilkes: I Give You All My Money, through Mar. 4.
 
Rhona Hoffman Gallery (118 N. Peoria, Chicago, 312-455-1990/rhoffmangallery.com) presents Andre Butzer through Mar. 17.
 
Roy Boyd Gallery (739 N. Wells, Chicago/ 312-642-1606/royboydgallery.com) presents John Fraser: New Work, through Feb. 21. William Conger: New Work, Feb. 24 through Apr.
 
Russell Bowman Art Advisory (311 W. Superior, Chicago/312-751-9500/bowmanart. com) presents Drawings, through April 21.
 
Schneider Gallery (230 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-988-4033/schneidergallery.com) presents Chen Jiagang: I Cannot Pass Through, through Feb.
 
Zolla/Lieberman Gallery Inc. (325 W. Huron Street, Chicago/ 312-944-1990/zolla liebermangallery.com) presents The Question of Their Content, a group exhibition curated by   Carly Silverman, through Mar.  17.

OUR COVER ARTIST
  
Terry Evans’ photographs are of glaciers  in Greenland measuring 70 meters high, about the same height as a twenty-story building. She was working at the invitation of the Spencer Museum of Art at the University of Kansas which was measuing the depth of the ice sheets to understand the rate of melting to better learn the rate of climate change. She writes that when she was there in June that the sun never set.

Published: February 12, 2012
Issue: February 2012 Issue