72
  • Emailarticle
  • Writecomment

June 2012 - July 2012 Chicago Art, Culture, and Events

Your Chicago guide to the best museums, galleries, and events in Chicago

By CHICAGO LIFE MAGAZINE
SPECIAL EVENTS

June 13-Aug. 18.   Grant Park Music Festival. Enjoy free outdoor classical music at the Jay Pritzker Pavilion, Millenium Park (grantparkmusicfestival.com)
  
June 29-30.  Old St. Pat’s World’s Largest Block Party. Over 18,000 people mingle and dance to live music along two blocks of great food and drinks. (Old St. Pat’s Church, 312-648-1021, worldslargestblockparty.com)
  
June 30-July 1.  Gold Coast Art Fair at Grant Park. The show features work by over 350 juried artists from around the world. Free. (Grant Park, amdurproductions.com)
  
July 4.  Fourth of July fireworks. (Navy Pier, navypier.com)
  
July 11-15.  Taste of Chicago.  The giant food fair continues. Live music and entertainment along with food sampling. (Grant Park, choosechicago.com)
  
July 21.  Green City Market Chefs’ BBQ Benefit.  Almost 100 celebrity chefs team up with Chicago farmers to create sumptuous dishes. (Lincoln Park, 773-880-1266, greencitymarket.org)

EVENTS


Adler Planetarium (1300 S. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/312-922-7827/adlerplanetarium.org) presents Space Shows and 3D Sun through Dec.
 
Art Institute of Chicago (111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-443-3600/ artic.edu) presents Rethinking Typology through July 29.
 
Chicago Botanic Garden (1000 Lake Cook Rd., Glencoe/ 847-835-5440/chicago botanic.org) presents 24 spectacular gardens on 385 acres. A photo exhibition, Nature in View, ends July 8.
 
Chicago Cultural Center (78 E. Washington St., Chicago/312-744-6630/explore chicago.org) presents free exhibitions and events. Matthew Woodward: View from the Birth Day through July 15; Shawn Major: On a Darkling Plain through July 15.
 
Chicago History Museum (1601 N. Clark, Chicago/312-642-4600/ chicagohs.org) presents Magic.
 
DePaul Art Museum (935 W. Fullerton, museums.depaul.edu/artwebsite/) presents Drawn from Photography, June 21-Aug 19.
 
Field Museum (1400 S. Lake Shore Dr., Chicago/ 312-922-9410/fieldmuseum.org) presents Science on the Half Shell through Aug. 19.
 
Hyde Park Art Center (5020 S. Cornell Ave., Chicago/ 773-324-5520/hydeparkart. com) presents The Hairy Blob through July 29.
 
Illinois Holocaust Museum and Education Center (9603 Woods Drive, Skokie/ 847-967-4800/ilholocaustmuseum.org) presents Spies, Traitors and Saboteurs: Fear and Freedom in America, July 15 through Jan. 6.
 
International Museum of Surgical Science (1524 N. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/ 312-642-6502/imss.org) presents Surgicogenomics: Genes and Stem Cells in Surgery.
 
Intuit: The Center for Intuitive and Outsider Art (756 N. Milwaukee Ave., Chicago/ 312-243-9088/ art.org) presents Heaven + Hell, in collaboration with the Loyola University Museum of Art through June 30.
 
Kohl Children’s Museum of Greater Chicago (2100 Patriot Blvd., Glenview/ 847-832-6600/kohlchildrensmuseum.org) presents Chagall for Children, June 18-Sept. 2.
 
Loyola University Museum of Art (820 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-915-6394/luc. edu/luma) presents Heaven+ Hell through June 30.
 
Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University (40 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston/847-491-4000/blockmuseum. northwestern.edu) presents Art on Paper: Prints, Drawings and Photographs from the Block Museum through Aug. 26.
 
Morton Arboretum (4100 Illinois Route 53, Lisle/ 630-968-0074/mortonarb.org) presents Tree House Tales.
 
Museum of Contemporary Art (220 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago/ 312-280-2660/mca chicago.org) presents Rashid Johnson: Message to our Folks through Aug. 15.
 
Museum of Contemporary Photography (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-663-5554/ mocp.org) presents Survival Techniques: Narratives of Residence through July 1.
 
Museum of Science and Industry (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-663-5554/msi chicago.org) presents Mythbusters: the Explosive Exhibition through Sept. 3.
 
National Museum of Mexican Art (1852 W. 19th St., Chicago/312-738-1503/nationalmuseumofmexicanart.org) El alma del Fisesta runs through Aug. 19.
 
Noyes Cultural Art Center Gallery (927 Noyes Street, Evanston/847-448-8620) presents Refresh through Jul 6.
 
Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum (2430 N. Cannon Drive, Chicago/ 773-755-5100/ chias.org) presents Bike! The Green Revolution through Sept. 9.
 
The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago (5811 S. Ellis Avenue, Chicago/  773-702-8670/renaissancesociety.org) presents Dawoud Bey, through June 24.
 
Smart Museum of Art (5550 S. Greenwood Ave., Chicago/ 773-702-0200/smartmuseum. com) presents Drawing Inward: German Surrealist Richard Oelze June 19-Aug. 26.
 
Spertus Museum (610 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-322-1700/spertus.edu/ museum) presents Uncovered & Rediscovered: Stories of Jewish Chicago through Dec.

THEATRE
 
Apollo Theater (2540 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-935-6100/apollochicago.com) presents the Million Dollar Quartet through Sept. 2.
 
Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University ( 50 E. Congress Parkway, Chicago/ 800-982-ARTS/auditorium theatre.com) presents The Bourne Family: Welcome to Our Home through July 21.
 
Black Ensemble Theater (4450 N. Clark St., Chicago/773-769-4451/blackensembletheater.org) presents The Marvin Gaye Story (Don’t Talk About My Father Because God is My Friend) through Aug. 19.
 
Briar Street Theater (3133 N. Halsted Street, Chicago/ 773-348-4000/blueman. com) presents a new and updated Blue Man Group showcasing technogeek ingenuity.
 
Broadway in Chicago (312-977-1717/ broadwayinchicago.com) is a touring company that presents musicals and plays.
 
Chicago Dramatists (1105 W. Chicago Ave, Chicago/312-633-0630/chicagodramatists.org) presents I Am Going to Change the World  through July 1.
 
Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier (800 E. Grand Ave., Chicago/312-595-5600/ chicagoshakes.com) presents Beauty and the Beast, June 28-Aug. 26.
 
Chicago Theatre (175 N. State Street/ 312-902-1500/thechicagotheatre.com) presents Kevin Smith, June 14; Vince Vaughn, June 17; Dream Theater, June 23.
 
Court Theatre (5535 S. Ellis Ave, Chicago/ 773-753-4472/courttheatre.org) presents Jitney, Sept. 6-Oct. 14.
 
Drury Lane Theatre 630-530-0111/ 100  Drury Lane, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook/ drurylaneoakbrook.com) presents The 39 Steps, July 5-Aug. 26.
 
Goodman Theatre (170 N. Dearborn St., Chicago/312-443-3800/goodmantheatre. org) presents Crowns, June 30-Aug. 5.
 
Harris Theater (205 E. Randolph St., Chicago/ 312-334-7777/harristheaterchicago. org) presents a Paris Opera Ballet, June 26-July 1.
 
Lookingglass Theatre (821 N. Michigan, Chicago/ lookingglasstheatre.org/312-337-0665) presents Eastland: An Original Musical through July 29.
 
Marriott Theatre (10 Marriott Drive, Lincolnshire/847-634-0200/ marriottheatre. com) presents Hero: A New Musical, June 20 through Aug. 19.
 
Northlight Theatre (9501 Skokie Blvd., Skokie/ 847-673-6300/ northlight.org) presents Woody Sez—The Life and Music of Woody Guthrie, Sept. 14-Oct. 21.
 
The Paramount Theatre (23 E. Galena Blvd, Aurora/630-896-6666/paramountaurora. com) presents Grease, Sept. 12-30.
 
Raven Theatre Company (6157 N. Clark  St, Chicago/773-338-2177/raventheatre.
com) presents Bang the Drum Slowly through June 30.
 
Royal George Theatre (1641 North Halsted, Chicago/312-988-9000/royalgeorgetheatre. com) presents Motherhood the Musical.
 
Steppenwolf Theatre Company (1650 N. Halsted St., Chicago/312-335-1650/steppenwolf. org) presents Three Sisters, June 28-Aug. 26.
 
TimeLine Theatre (615 W. Wellington, Chicago/773-281-8463/timelinetheatre. com) presents My Kind of Town through July 29.
 
Victory Gardens (2433 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-871-3000/victorygardens.org) presents Oedipus del Rey, June 29-July 29.

GALLERIES
 
Carrie Secrist Gallery (835 W. Washington Blvd, Chicago/312-491-0917/secristgallery. com) presents Noelle Allen, June 16-July 28.
 
Douglas Dawson Gallery (400 N. Morgan, Chicago/312-226-7975/douglasdawson.com) features by Barry Brukoff photos.
 
Echt Gallery (222 W. Superior, Chicago /312- 440-0268/echtgallery.com) features East & West through June 22.
 
Hinge Gallery (1955 W. Chicago/
Chicago/ 312-291-9313/hingegallery.com) presents an Anniversary Exhibition June 30-Sept. 8.
 
Perimeter Gallery (210 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-266-9473/perimetergallery. com) presents Jeanine Coupe-Ryding (Prints) through July 7.
 
Maya Polsky Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-440-0055/mayapolsky gallery.com) presents Andy Paczos.
 
Gallery KH (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago /312-642-0202/gallerykh.com) presents Jerry Richetson, New American Landscapes opening July.
 
Jean Albano Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-440-0770/jeanalbano gallery.com) presents Jules Feiffer through July 7.
 
Judy A. Saslow Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/312-943-0530/jsaslowgallery.com) presents Kathy Yancey; Jordan Scott; Stephen Blutter, through July 14.
 
Ken Saunders Gallery, Ltd (230 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-573-1400/ kensaunders gallery. com) presents Catharine Newell through July 7.
 
Linda Warren Gallery (1052 W. Fulton Market, Chicago/312-432-9500/lindawarren gallery. com) presents Tom Torluemke: Ring Around the Rose through June 15.
 
Printworks Gallery (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-664-9407/printworks chicago. com) presents Robert Barnes through July 7; Summer Show, July 13-Aug. 18.
 
Rhona Hoffman Gallery (118 N. Peoria, Chicago, 312-455-1990/rhoffmangallery. com) presents work by Carmen McLeod and Susan Hefuna through June 22.
 
Roy Boyd Gallery (739 N. Wells, Chicago/ 312-642-1606/royboydgallery.com) presents Preview New Work: Estrada-Vega, Katznelson, Munson, Powers, Van Wieren, through July 10.
 
Russell Bowman Art Advisory (311 W. Superior, Chicago/312-751-9500/bowmanart. com) presents Image/Abstraction Object, through June 30.
 
Schneider Gallery (230 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-988-4033/schneidergallery.com) presents After Classical Portraiture through July 7.
 
Zg Gallery (300 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-654-9900/zggallery.com) presents ZG10-Group Show through July 7.
 
Zolla/Lieberman Gallery Inc. (325 W. Huron Street, Chicago/ 312-944-1990/zolla liebermangallery.com) presents Carly Silverman; Vera Klement through June 30. Dan Mills; Wilder Buck; Glenn Wexler, July 13-Aug. 22.


Published: June 10, 2012
Issue: Summer 2012 Issue