72
  • Emailarticle
  • Writecomment

August 2012 - September 2012 Chicago Art, Culture, and Events

Your Chicago guide to the best museums, galleries, and events in Chicago

By
ARTS AND EVENTS

Museums
Adler Planetarium (1300 S. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/312-922-7827/adlerplanetarium.org) presents Space Shows and 3D Sun through Dec.
  
Art Institute of Chicago (111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-443-3600/artic.edu) presents Contemporary Japanese Art through Oct. 28.
 
Chicago Botanic Garden (1000 Lake Cook Rd., Glencoe/ 847-835-5440/chicago botanic.org) presents 24 spectacular gardens on 385 acres.
  
Chicago Cultural Center (78 E. Washington St., Chicago/312-744-6630/explore chicago.org) presents free exhibitions and events.
 
Chicago History Museum (1601 N. Clark, Chicago/312-642-4600/ chicagohs.org) presents Magic through Sept. 3.
 
DePaul Art Museum (935 W. Fullerton, museums.depaul.edu/artwebsite/) presents Afterimage Sept. 13-Nov. 18.

Driehaus Museum (40 East Erie/312-482-8933/driehausmuseum.org) presents Help Wanted: The Summer Servants Tour, Mon., Wed. and Fri. though Sept. 14 at 5:30 p.m. Tickets for sale online.
  
Field Museum (1400 S. Lake Shore Dr., Chicago/ 312-922-9410/fieldmuseum.org) presents Extreme Animals through Jan. 6.
  
Hyde Park Art Center (5020 S. Cornell Ave., Chicago/ 773-324-5520/hydeparkart. com) presents Ground Floor through Nov. 11.
  
Illinois Holocaust Museum and Education Center (9603 Woods Drive, Skokie/ 847-967-4800/ilholocaustmuseum.org) presents Spies, Traitors and Saboteurs: Fear and Freedom in America through Jan. 6.
  
International Museum of Surgical Science (1524 N. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/ 312-642-6502/imss.org) presents Surgicogenomics: Genes and Stem Cells in Surgery.
   
Intuit: The Center for Intuitive and Outsider Art (756 N. Milwaukee Ave., Chicago/ 312-243-9088/ art.org) presents Ex-Static: George Kagan’s Radios through Jan. 5.
   
Kohl Children’s Museum of Greater Chicago (2100 Patriot Blvd., Glenview/ 847-832-6600/kohlchildrensmuseum.org) presents Chagall for Children through Sept. 2.
  
Loyola University Museum of Art (820 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-915-6394/luc. edu/luma) presents Sacred Geometry & Secular Science through Oct. 28.
  
Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University (40 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston/847-491-4000/blockmuseum. northwestern.edu) presents DeNatured German Art from Joseph Beuys to Martin Kippenburger, Selections from the James Keith Brown and Eric Diefenbach Collection Sept. 21-Dec. 9.
 
Mitchell Museum (3001 Central St., Evanston/847-475-1030/mitchellmuseum. org) presents Changing Views of American Indian Fine Art through Jan. 6.
  
Morton Arboretum (4100 Illinois Route 53, Lisle/ 630-968-0074/mortonarb.org) Outdoor tree museum of 1700 acres including specialty gardens, 16 miles of trails and 9 miles of roads. Vanishing Acts: Trees Under Threat opens Sept. 9.
   
Museum of Contemporary Art (220 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago/ 312-280-2660/mca chicago.org) presents Phantom Limb Approaches to Painting through Oct. 21.
   
Museum of Contemporary Photography (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-663-5554/ mocp.org) presents Peripheral Views: States of America through Sept. 30.
   
Museum of Science and Industry (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-663-5554/ msi chicago.org) presents Smart Home: Green + Wired through Jan. 6.
  
National Museum of Mexican Art (1852 W. 19th St., Chicago/312-738-1503/nationalmuseumofmexicanart.org) presents Keepers through Oct. 6.
  
Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum (2430 N. Cannon Drive, Chicago/ 773-755-5100/ chias.org) presents Bike! The Green Revolution through Sept. 9.
  
The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago (5811 S. Ellis Avenue, Chicago/  773-702-8670/renaissancesociety.org) presents Danh Vo Sept. 23-Dec. 16.
  
Smart Museum of Art (5550 S. Greenwood Ave., Chicago/ 773-702-0200/smartmuseum. com) presents From the Land of the Morning Calm: Traditions of Korean Art through Sept. 9.
  
Spertus Museum (610 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-322-1700/spertus.edu/ museum) presents Uncovered & Rediscovered: Stories of Jewish Chicago through Dec.

Theatre

Apollo Theater (2540 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-935-6100/apollochicago.com) presents the Million Dollar Quartet through Sept. 2.
 
Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University ( 50 E. Congress Parkway, Chicago/ 800-982-ARTS/auditorium theatre.com) presents On Stage With…Susan Werner, Sept. 15.
 
Briar Street Theater (3133 N. Halsted Street, Chicago/ 773-348-4000/blueman. com) presents a new and updated Blue Man Group showcasing technogeek ingenuity.
 
Broadway in Chicago (312-977-1717/ broadwayinchicago.com) is a touring company that presents popular Broadway musicals and plays.
 
Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier (800 E. Grand Ave., Chicago/ 312-595-5600/ chicagoshakes.com) presents National Theatre of Scotland’s The Strange Undoing of Prudencia Hart, Sept. 26-Oct. 14.
 
Chicago Theatre (175 N. State Street/ 312-902-1500/thechicagotheatre.com) presents Blondie and Devo Sept. 26; Radiolab Live: In the Dark, Sept. 28.
 
Court Theatre (5535 S. Ellis Ave, Chicago/ 773-753-4472/courttheatre.org) presents Jitney, Sept. 6-Oct. 14.
 
Drury Lane Theatre 630-530-0111/ 100  Drury Lane, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook/ drurylaneoakbrook.com) presents Xanadu, Sept. 6-Oct. 28.
 
Goodman Theatre (170 N. Dearborn St., Chicago/312-443-3800/goodmantheatre. org) presents Sweet Bird of Youth, Sept. 15-Oct. 28.
 
Harris Theater (205 E. Randolph St., Chicago/ 312-334-7777/harristheaterchicago. org) presents The Magic Flute, Chicago Opera Theater, Sept. 15, 19, 21, 23.
  
Marriott Theatre (10 Marriott Drive, Lincolnshire/847-634-0200/ marriottheatre. com) presents Dreamgirls, Aug. 22-Oct. 28.
 
Northlight Theatre (9501 Skokie Blvd., Skokie/ 847-673-6300/ northlight.org) presents Woody Sez—The Life and Music of Woody Guthrie, Sept. 16-Oct. 23.
 
The Paramount Theatre (23 E. Galena Blvd, Aurora/630-896-6666/paramountaurora. com) presents Grease, Sept. 12-30.
 
Raven Theatre Company (6157 N. Clark  St, Chicago/773-338-2177/raventheatre. com) presents The Big Knife Sept. 17-Nov. 11.
 
Royal George Theatre (1641 North Halsted, Chicago/312-988-9000/royalgeorgetheatre. com) presents Late Night Catechism.
 
Steppenwolf Theatre Company (1650 N. Halsted St., Chicago/312-335-1650/steppenwolf. org) presents Good People, Sept. 13-Nov. 11.
 
TimeLine Theatre (615 W. Wellington, Chicago/773-281-8463/timelinetheatre. com) presents 33 Variations, Aug. 24-Oct.  21.
 
Victory Gardens (2433 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-871-3000/victorygardens.org) presents Equivocations Sept. 14-Oct. 14.

GALLERIES

Ann Nathan Gallery (212 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-664-6622/annnathangallery. com) presents figurative art and realism.
 
The Arts Club of Chicago (201 E. Ontario, Chicago/312-787-3997/artsclubchicago. com) Founded in 1916, the Arts Club exhibits international contemporary art.
 
Carrie Secrist Gallery (835 W. Washington Blvd, Chicago/312-491-0917/secristgallery. com) presents Anne Lindberg, Sept. 7-
Oct. 13.
 
Catherin Edelman Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/edelmangallery.com) presents photography by Terry Evans, Sept.7 to Oct.27.
 
Douglas Dawson Gallery (400 N. Morgan, Chicago/312-226-7975/douglasdawson.com) specializes in ancient and historic art from Africa, Asia and the Americas.
  
Echt Gallery (222 W. Superior, Chicago /312- 440-0268/echtgallery.com) specializes in glass art.
  
Hinge Gallery (1955 W. Chicago/ Chicago/ 312-291-9313/hingegallery.com) presents an Anniversary Exhibition through Sept. 8.
 
Gallery KH (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago /312-642-0202/gallerykh.com) presents Carolyn Cole, New Colorful Abstracts, opens in Sept.
 
Jean Albano Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-440-0770/jeanalbano gallery.com) specializes in contemporary American painting, sculpture and mixed media artists.
  
Judy A. Saslow Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/312-943-0530/jsaslowgallery.com) features European self-taught and outsider artists.
  
Ken Saunders Gallery, Ltd (230 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-573-1400/ kensaunders gallery. com) features innovative glass artists from around the world.
 
Linda Warren Gallery (1052 W. Fulton Market, Chicago/312-432-9500/lindawarren gallery. com) presents Brenda More, Sept. 7-Oct. 20.
  
Maya Polsky Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-440-0055/mayapolsky gallery.com) presents Andy Paczos.
  
Perimeter Gallery (210 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-266-9473/perimetergallery. com) presents Robert Kushner; Shoichi Ida, Sept. 7-Oct. 6.
  
Printworks Gallery (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-664-9407/printworks chicago. com) presents Robert Schultz, Sept. 7-Oct. 13.
  
Rhona Hoffman Gallery (118 N. Peoria, Chicago, 312-455-1990/rhoffmangallery. com) specializes in international contemporary art in all medias.
 
Roy Boyd Gallery (739 N. Wells, Chicago/ 312-642-1606/royboydgallery.com) presents Marco Casentini, New Paintings; Soviet Photos prior to 1991, through Sept. 1.
  
Russell Bowman Art Advisory (311 W. Superior, Chicago/312-751-9500/bowmanart. com) specializes in modern, contemporary and self-taught art.
  
Schneider Gallery (230 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-988-4033/schneidergallery. com) presents a summer group show through Sept. 1.
  
Zg Gallery (300 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-654-9900/zggallery. com) presents Zg Gallery 10th Anniversary Group Show through Aug. 31.
 
Zolla/Lieberman Gallery Inc. (325 W. Huron Street, Chicago/ 312-944-1990/zolla liebermangallery.com) presents Dan Mills; Wilder Buck; Glenn Wexler, through Aug. 29.

SPECIAL EVENTS


Chicago Jazz Festival (various locations/jazzinchicago.org) Listen to some of the top names in jazz. Aug.30-Sept. 2.

Published: September 06, 2012
Issue: Fall 2012 Issue