72
  • Emailarticle
  • Writecomment

October 2012 - November 2012 Chicago Art, Culture, and Events

Your Chicago guide to the best museums, galleries, and events in Chicago

By
MUSEUMS
Adler Planetarium (1300 S. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/312-922-7827/adlerplanetarium.org) presents Space Shows and 3D Sun through Dec.
  
Art Institute of Chicago (111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-443-3600/artic.edu) presents Building: Inside Studio Gang Architects through Feb. 24.
 
Chicago Botanic Garden (1000 Lake Cook Rd., Glencoe/ 847-835-5440/chicago botanic.org) presents 24 spectacular gardens on 385 acres.
  
Chicago Cultural Center (78 E. Washington St., Chicago/312-744-6630/explore chicago.org) presents free exhibitions and events.
 
Chicago History Museum (1601 N. Clark, Chicago/312-642-4600/ chicagohs.org) presents Magic through Jan 6.
 
DePaul Art Museum (935 W. Fullerton, Chicago/museums.DePaul.edu/artwebsite/ 773-325-7506) presents The Nature Drawings of Peter Karklins through Nov. 18.
   
Driehaus Museum (40 East Erie/312-482-8933/driehausmuseum.org) presents one of the grandest residential buildings of 19th century Chicago.
  
Field Museum (1400 S. Lake Shore Dr., Chicago/ 312-922-9410/fieldmuseum.org) presents Extreme Animals through Jan. 6.
  
Hyde Park Art Center (5020 S. Cornell Ave., Chicago/ 773-324-5520/hydeparkart. com) presents Ground Floor through Nov. 11.
  
Illinois Holocaust Museum and Education Center (9603 Woods Drive, Skokie/ 847-967-4800/ilholocaustmuseum.org) presents Spies, Traitors and Saboteurs: Fear and Freedom in America through Jan. 6.
   
International Museum of Surgical Science (1524 N. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/ 312-642-6502/imss.org) presents Surgicogenomics: Genes and Stem Cells in Surgery.
   
Intuit: The Center for Intuitive and Outsider Art (756 N. Milwaukee Ave., Chicago/ 312-243-9088/ art.org) presents Ex-Static: George Kagan’s Radios through Jan. 5.
   
Kohl Children’s Museum of Greater Chicago (2100 Patriot Blvd., Glenview/ 847-832-6600/kohlchildrensmuseum.org) presents The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
through Jan 6.
  
Loyola University Museum of Art (820 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-915-6394/luc. edu/luma) presents Art and Faith of the Creche: The Collection of James and Emilia Jovan through Jan. 13.
  
Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University (40 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston/847-491-4000/
blockmuseum. northwestern.edu) presents DeNatured German Art from Joseph Beuys to Martin Kippenburger, Selections from the James Keith Brown and Eric Diefenbach Collection through Dec. 9.

Mitchell Museum (3001 Central St., Evanston/847-475-1030/mitchellmuseum. org) presents Changing Views of American Indian Fine Art till Jan.
   
Morton Arboretum (4100 Illinois Route 53, Lisle/ 630-968-0074/mortonarb.org) Outdoor tree museum of 1700 acres including specialty gardens, 2012-13 Chamber Concert Series Nov. through Mar.
   
Museum of Contemporary Art (220 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago/ 312-280-2660/mca chicago.org) presents MCA DNA William Kentridge through Mar. 17; Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec: Bivouac through Jan. 20.
   
Museum of Contemporary Photography (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-663-5554/ mocp.org) presents 1979: 1—2012:21; Jan Tichy Works with The MOCP Collection.
   
Museum of Science and Industry (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-663-5554/ msi chicago.org) presents Smart Home: Green + Wired through Jan. 6.
  
Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum (2430 N. Cannon Drive, Chicago/ 773-755-5100/ chias.org) presents Monsters on Bikes through Oct. 31.
   
The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago (5811 S. Ellis Avenue, Chicago 773-702-8670/renaissance society.org) presents Danh Vo: Uterus through Dec. 16.
  
Smart Museum of Art (5550 S. Greenwood Ave., Chicago/ 773-702-0200/smartmuseum. com) presents Renewal and Revision: Japanese Prints of the 1950s and 1960s through December 9; Awash in Color: French and Japanese Prints through Jan 20.
  
Spertus Museum (610 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-322-1700/spertus.edu/ museum) presents Uncovered & Rediscovered: Stories of Jewish Chicago throughs Dec.

GALLERIES
Ann Nathan Gallery (212 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-664 6622/annnathan gallery. com) presents figurative art and realism.
    
The Arts Club of Chicago (201 E. Ontario, Chicago/312-7873997/artsclubchicago.  com) presents Janice Kerbel through Dec. 21.
  
Carrie Secrist Gallery (835 W. Washington Blvd,, Chicago/312-491-0917/secristgallery. com) presents a solo exhibition by Deitrich Wegner Oct. 26 through Dec. 6.
  
Catherine Edelman Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/edelmangallery.com) presents What I Was Thinking, 25 Year Anniversary, Nov. 2 through Dec. 29.
   
Douglas Dawson Gallery (400 N. Morgan, Chicago/312-226-7975/douglasdawson. com) specializes in ancient and historic art from Africa, Asia and the Americas.
 
Echt Gallery (222 W. Superior, Chicago /312-440-0268/echtgallery.com) presents Janusz Walenetynowicz Nov. 2 - Dec. 31.
 
Gallery KH (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-642-0202/gallerykh.com) presents Carolyn Cole, New Colorful Abstracts.Jean Albano Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-440-0770/jeanalbano gallery.com) presents Objects Nov. 2 – Dec.
 
Linda Warren Gallery (1052 W. Fulton Market, Chicago/312-432-9500/lindawarren gallery. com) presents Peter Drake; Scott Carter Oct. 26-Dec. 8.
 
Maya Polsky Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-440-0055/mayapolsky gallery.com) presents Jose Cobo through Oct.20.
 
Perimeter Gallery (210 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-266-9473/perimetergallery. com) presents Julie York, Xavier Toubes, and Ken Loeber Nov. 2 – Dec. 20.
 
Printworks Gallery (311 W. Superior Street,
Chicago/312-664-9407/printworks chicago. com) presents Chris Schneberger Oct. 19 – Nov. 24.
  
Rhona Hoffman Gallery (118 N. Peoria, Chicago, 312-455-1990/rhoffmangallery. com) specializes in international
contemporary art in all medias.
  
Richard Gray Gallery (875 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 2503, Chicago/312-642-8877/ richardgraygallery.com) presents Muse: Exploring Inspiration, through Dec. 1.
  
Roy Boyd Gallery (739 N. Wells, Chicago/312-642-1606/royboydgallery.com) presentsMario Trejo: Cathartic Fury; Sara Krepp: Walking Drawings, Oct. 26-Dec. 4.
  
Russell Bowman Art Advisory (311 W. Superior, Chicago/312-751-9500/bowmanart.  com) is exhibiting major paintings by Roger Brown through October 27.
  
Schneider Gallery (230 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-988-4033/schneider gallery.com) presents Jess T. Dugan through Oct. 27.
 
Zg Gallery (300 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-654-9900/zggallery.com) presents Anna Joelsdottir, Oct. 19 –Nov. 24.
 
Zolla/Lieberman Gallery Inc. (325 W. Huron Street, Chicago/312-944-1990/zolla  liebermangallery.com) presents Roger Brown: Major Paintings, through Oct. 27.

THEATER
 Apollo Theater (2540 N. Lincoln Ave,
Chicago/773-935-6100/apollochicago.com) presents the Million Dollar Quartet through Jan. 6.
 
Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University ( 50 E. Congress Parkway, Chicago/ 800-982-ARTS/auditorium theatre.com) presents Sister Act, Nov. 13 –Dec. 2.
 
Black Ensemble Theater (4450 N. Clark St., Chicago/773-769-4451/BlackEnsembleTheater.org) presents One Name Only, through Nov. 11.
 
Briar Street Theater (3133 N. Halsted Street, Chicago/773-348-4000/blueman. .com) presents a new and updated Blue Man Group showcasing technogeek ingenuity.
  
Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier (800 E. Grand Ave., Chicago/ 312-595-5600/ chicagoshakes.com) presents Sondheim’s Sunday in the Park with George, through Nov. 4.
 
Chicago Theatre (175 N. State Street/
312-902-1500/thechicagotheatre.com) presents Lewis Black, Nov. 17.
  
Court Theatre (5535 S. Ellis Ave., Chicago/ 773-753-4472/courttheatre.org) presents James Joyce’s The Dead, Nov. 8 – Dec. 9.
  
Drury Lane Theatre (100  Drury Lane, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook, 630-530-0111/ drurylaneoakbrook.com) presents Singin in the Rain. Opens Nov. 8.
 
Goodman Theatre (170 N. Dearborn St.,
Chicago/312-443-3800/goodmantheatre. org) presents Sweet Bird of Youth, through Oct. 28.
 
Harris Theater (205 E. Randolph St., Chicago/312-334-7777/harristheaterchicago. org) presents Giordano Dance Chicago: 50th Anniversary Season, Oct. 26, 27.
 
Lookingglass Theatre (821 N. Michigan Ave, Chicago/312-377-0665/lookingglasstheatre.org) presents Metamorphoses by Mary Zimmerman.
 
Marriott Theatre (10 Marriott Drive, Lincolnshire/847-634-0200/marriottheatre. com) presents Dreamgirls, through Oct. 28.
 
Mercury Theatre (3745 N. Southport Ave., Chicago/773-325-1700/FreudsLastSession. com) presents Freud’s Last Session, through Nov. 11.
   
Northlight Theatre (9501 Skokie Blvd., Skokie/ 847-673-6300/northlight.org) presents The Odd Couple, Nov. 2 – Dec. 9.
 
The Paramount Theatre (23 E. Galena Blvd, Aurora/630-896-6666/paramountaurora. com) presents Annie, Nov. 21 –Dec. 30.
 
Raven Theatre Company (6157 N. Clark St, Chicago/773-338-2177/raventheatre. com) presents The Big Knife, through Nov.
 
A Red Orchid Theatre (1531 N. Wells St,
Chicago/312-943-8722/aredorchidtheatre. org) presents The Opponent from Oct. 18 – Dec. 2
  
Royal George Theatre (1641 North Halsted, Chicago/312-988-9000/royalgeorgetheatre. com) presents Late Night Catechism.
  
Steppenwolf Theatre Company (1650 N. Halsted St., Chicago/312-335-1650/steppenwolf. org) presents Good People, through Nov. 11.
 
TimeLine Theatre (615 W. Wellington, Chicago/773-281-8463/timelinetheatre. com) presents Wasteland, through Dec. 30.
 
Victory Gardens (2433 N. Lincoln Ave,
Chicago/773-871-3000/victorygardens.org) presents Failure: A  Love Story, through Dec. 30.
 
Writers’ Theatre (664 Vernon Ave,
Glencoe/847-242-6000/writerstheatre.org) presents Hamlet through Nov. 11.

Published: October 13, 2012
Issue: November 2012 Issue