72
  • Emailarticle
  • Writecomment

December 2012 - January 2013 Chicago Art, Culture, and Events

By CHICAGO LIFE MAGAZINE
MUSEUMS
Adler Planetarium (1300 S. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/312-922-7827/adlerplanetarium.org) presents the World’s Largest Snow Globe though Jan. 6.
 
Art Institute of Chicago (111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-443-3600/artic.edu) presents Building: Inside Studio Gang Architects through Feb. 24.
 
Chicago Botanic Garden (1000 Lake Cook Rd., Glencoe/ 847-835-5440/chicago botanic.org) presents 24 spectacular gardens on 385 acres. Wonderland Express through Jan. 6.
 
Chicago Cultural Center (78 E. Washington St., Chicago/312-744-6630/explore chicago.org) presents free exhibitions and events.
 
Chicago History Museum (1601 N. Clark, Chicago/312-642-4600/chicagohs.org) presents Magic through Jan 6; Vivian Maier’s Chicago, through summer 2013.
 
DePaul Art Museum (935 W. Fullerton,
Chicago/museums.DePaul.edu/artwebsite/ 773-325-7506) presents Climate of Uncertainty, Jan. 10 – Mar. 4.
  
Driehaus Museum (40 East Erie/312-482-8933/driehausmuseum.org) presents one of the grandest residential buildings of 19th century Chicago.
 
Field Museum (1400 S. Lake Shore Dr., Chicago/312-922-9410/fieldmuseum.org) presents Extreme Animals through Jan. 6.
 
Hyde Park Art Center (5020 S. Cornell Ave., Chicago/773-324-5520/ http://www.hydeparkart.org) presents Ground Floor through Bette Cerf Hill: String Theory, through Feb. 13.
 
Illinois Holocaust Museum and Education Center (9603 Woods Drive, Skokie/ 847-967-4800/ilholocaustmuseum.org) presents Spies, Traitors and Saboteurs: Fear and Freedom in America through Jan. 6.
  
International Museum of Surgical Science (1524 N. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/ 312-642-6502/imss.org) presents Surgicogenomics: Genes and Stem Cells in Surgery.
 
Intuit: The Center for Intuitive and Outsider Art (756 N. Milwaukee Ave., Chicago/ 312-243-9088/ art.org) presents Hawkins/ Hawkins: One Saw Everything, One Saw Nothing, through Jan. 5.
  
Kohl Children’s Museum of Greater Chicago (2100 Patriot Blvd., Glenview/ 847-832-6600/kohlchildrensmuseum.org) presents The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, through Jan 6.
   
Loyola University Museum of Art (820 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-915-6394/luc. edu/luma) presents Art and Faith of the Creche: The Collection of James and Emilia Jovan through Jan. 13.
 
Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University (40 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston/847-491-4000/blockmuseum. northwestern.edu) presents Terry Atkins Recital, Jan. 11-Mar. 24.
 
Mitchell Museum (3001 Central St., Evanston/847-475-1030/mitchellmuseum. org) presents Changing Views ofAmerican Indian Fine Art, till Jan.
 
Morton Arboretum (4100 Illinois Route 53, Lisle/ 630-968-0074/mortonarb.org) Outdoor tree museum of 1700 acres including specialty gardens, 2012-13 Chamber Concert Series through Mar.
  
Museum of Contemporary Art (220 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago/312-280-2660/mca chicago.org) presents MCA DNA William Kentridge through Mar. 17; Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec: Bivouac through Jan. 20.
  
Museum of Contemporary Photography (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-663-5554/ mocp.org) presents 1979: 1—2012:21; Jan Tichy Works with The MOCP Collection, through Dec. 23.
  
Museum of Science and Industry (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-663-5554/ msi chicago.org) presents Smart Home: Green + Wired through Jan. 6.
 
Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum (2430 N. Cannon Drive, Chicago/773-755-5100/ chias.org) presents Backyard Monsters.
 
The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago (5811 S. Ellis Avenue, Chicago, 773-702-8670/renaissance society.org) presents R.H. Quaytman: Passing Through the Opposite of What It Approaches, Chapter 25, Jan. 6-Feb. 17.
 
Smart Museum of Art (5550 S. Greenwood Ave., Chicago/773-702-0200/smartmuseum. com) presents Awash in Color: French and Japanese Prints, through Jan 20.
 
Spertus Museum (610 S. Michigan Ave.,
Chicago/312-322-1700/spertus.edu/ museum) presents Uncovered & Rediscovered:
Stories of Jewish Chicago through Dec. 29.

GALLERIES
  
Ann Nathan Gallery (212 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-664-6622/annnathan gallery. com) presents Jesus Curia Perez.
  
The Arts Club of Chicago (201 E. Ontario,
Chicago/312-7873997/artsclubchicago. com) presents Janice Kerbel through Dec. 21.
 
Carrie Secrist Gallery (835 W. Washington Blvd, Chicago/312-491-0917/secristgallery. com) presents a 20th Anniversary Show, Dec. 14-Feb. 1.
 
Catherine Edelman Gallery (300 W.
Superior, Chicago/edelmangallery.com)
presents What I Was Thinking, 25 Year Anniversary, through Dec. 29.
 
Douglas Dawson Gallery (400 N. Morgan,
Chicago/312-226-7975/douglasdawson. com) presents Kiff Slemmons: The White Work, Dec. 12-Jan. 12.
 
Echt Gallery (222 W. Superior, Chicago/ 312-440-0268/ echtgallery.com) presents Janusz Walenetynowicz, through Dec. 31.
 
Gallery KH (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-642-0202/gallerykh.com) presents Francine Turk, A 10 Year Retrospective, opens Dec. 12.
 
Jean Albano Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-440-0770/jeanalbano gallery.com) presents Objects Nov. 2 -Dec.
 
Judy Saslow Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/312-943-0530/jsaslowgallery.com) presents Jordan Scott, through Jan. 5; Michel Nedjar, Stanislov Holas, opens Jan. 11.
  
Ken Saunders Gallery (230 W. Superior,
Chicago/312-573 1400/ kensaundersgallery. com) presents Jose Chardiet “Viajero”; Jeffrey  Sarmeinto, “Books and Buildings,” through Dec. 28.
  
Linda Warren Gallery (1052 W. Fulton Market, Chicago/312-432-9500/lindawarren gallery. com) presents Shay Kun; Doug Fogelson, Dec. 14-Jan 26.Maya Polsky Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-440-0055/mayapolsky gallery.com) presents “Permanent Mirror” Exhibition of Photography by Lena Herzog, through Dec. 31.
 
Packer Schopf Gallery (942 W. Lake St., Chicago/312-226-8984/packergallery.com) presents Jerry Bleem, Ellen Greene, Lucy Ruth Wright Rivers and Jeff Crisman through Dec. 29.
 
Rhona Hoffman Gallery (118 N. Peoria, Chicago, 312-455-1990/rhoffmangallery. com) presents Vito Acconci, opening Dec. 14.
 
Richard Gray Gallery (875 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 2503, Chicago/312-642-8877 /richardgraygallery.com) presents modern and contemporary American and European art.
 
Roy Boyd Gallery (739 N. Wells, Chicago/
312-642-1606/royboydgallery.com) presents a Gallery Owned Inventory Sale through Dec. 31.
 
Russell Bowman Art Advisory (311 W. Superior, Chicago/312-751-9500/bowmanart. com) presents a 10th Anniversary Exhibition through Jan. 26.
 
Schneider Gallery (230 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-988-4033/schneider gallery.com) presents Luiz Gonzalez Palma: A Compilation, through Dec. 29.
 
 Zg Gallery (300 W. Superior Street,Chicago/312-654-9900/zggallery.com) presents Anna Joelsdottir.
 
Zolla/Lieberman Gallery Inc. (325 W. Huron Street, Chicago/312-944-1990/zolla  liebermangallery.com) presents Phyllis Bramson: Works on Paper, through Dec. 27.

THEATRE

 
Apollo Theater (2540 N. Lincoln Ave,
Chicago/773-935-6100/apollochicago.com) presents the Million Dollar Quartet through April 28.
 
Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University (50 E. Congress Parkway, Chicago/ 800-982-ARTS/auditoriumtheatre.com) presents The Joffrey Ballet—The Nutcracker, Dec. 7-27.
  
Briar Street Theater (3133 N. Halsted Street,Chicago/773-348-4000/blueman. com) presents a new and updated Blue Man Group showcasing technogeek ingenuity.
 
Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier (800 E. Grand Ave., Chicago/ 312-595-5600/ chicagoshakes. com) presents The School for Lies, through Jan. 20.
 
Chicago Theatre (175 N. StateStreet/312-902-1500/thechicagotheatre.com) presents Martina McBride, Dec. 21.
 
Court Theatre (5535 S. Ellis Ave., Chicago/773-753-4472/courttheatre.org) presents Skylight, Jan. 10-Feb. 10.
 
Drury Lane Theatre (100  Drury Lane, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook, 630-530-0111/ drurylaneoakbrook.com) presents Singin’ in the Rain through Dec. 30.
 
Goodman Theatre (170 N. Dearborn St., Chicago/312-443-3800/goodmantheatre. org) presents A Christmas Carol, through Dec. 29.
 
Harris Theater (205 E. Randsolph St.,
Chicago/312-334-7777/harristheaterchicago. org) presents Hubbard Street Dance Chicago, Dec. 6-9.
 
Lookingglass Theatre (821 N. Michigan Ave, Chicago/312-377-0665/lookingglasstheatre.org) presents Metamorphoses by Mary Zimmerman through Dec. 16.
 
Marriott Theatre (10 Marriott Drive, Lincolnshire/847-634-0200/marriottheatre. com) presents My One and Only, through Dec. 31.
 
Mercury Theatre (3745 N. Southport Ave., Chicago/773-325-1700/mercurytheatre chicago.com) The Christmas Schooner, through Dec. 30.
 
Northlight Theatre (9501 Skokie Blvd., Skokie/ 847-673-6300/northlight.org) presents The Whipping Man, Jan. 18-Feb. 24.
 
The Paramount Theatre (23 E. Galena Blvd, Aurora/630-896-6666/paramount aurora. com) presents Annie, through Dec. 30.
 
Raven Theatre Company (6157 N. Clark St, Chicago/ 773-338-2177/raven theatre.com) presents Boy Meets Girl, Jan. 15-Mar. 2.
 
A Red Orchid Theatre (1531 N. Wells St, Chicago/312-943-8722/aredorchidtheatre.org) presents The Aliens, Jan. 17-Mar. 3.
 
Royal George Theatre (1641 North Halsted, Chicago/312-988-9000/royalgeorgetheatre.com) presents Late Night Catechism.
  
Steppenwolf Theatre Company (1650 N. Halsted St., Chicago/312-335-1650/ steppenwolf.org) presents TheMotherf*ker With the Hat, Dec. 28-Mar. 3.
 
TimeLine Theatre (615 W. Wellington,
Chicago/773-281-8463/timelinetheatre. com) presents Wasteland, through Dec. 30.
 
Victory Gardens (2433 N. Lincoln Ave,
Chicago/773-871-3000/victorygardens.org) presents Failure: A Love Story, through Dec. 30.
 
Writers’ Theatre (664 Vernon Ave, Glencoe/847-242-6000/writerstheatre.org) presents The Letters through Mar. 3.

Published: December 02, 2012
Issue: 2012 Philanthropy Issue