72
  • Emailarticle
  • Writecomment

June 2013 - July 2013 Chicago Art, Culture, and Events

By CHICAGO LIFE MAGAZINE
MUSEUMS

Adler Planetarium (1300 S. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/312-922-7827/adlerplanetarium.org) presents The Universe: A Walk through Space and Time; Cosmic Wonder.
  
Art Institute of Chicago (111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-443-3600/artic.edu) presents Sharing Space: Creative Interactions in Architecture and Design through Aug. 18.
 
Chicago Botanic Garden (1000 Lake Cook Rd., Glencoe/ 847-835-5440/chicago- botanic.org) presents 24 spectacular gardens on 385 acres. Take the Grand Tour—a narrated 35-minute tram tour of the garden.
 
Chicago Cultural Center (78 E. Washington St., Chicago/312-744-6630/explore chicago.org) presents free exhibitions and events.
 
Chicago History Museum (1601 N. Clark, Chicago/312-642-4600/chicagohs. org) presents Magic: Vivian Maier’s Chicago through Jan. 5; Shalom Chicago through Sept. 2.
 
DePaul Art Msuseum (935 W. Fullerton, Chicago/museums. DePaul. edu/artwebsite/ 773-325-7506) presents War Baby/Love Child: Mixed Race Asian American Art through June 30.
 
Driehaus Museum (40 East Erie/312-482-8933/driehausmuseum.org) presents one of the grandest residential buildings of 19th century Chicago.
 
Field Museum (1400 S. Lake Shore Dr., Chicago/ 312-922-9410/fieldmuseum.org) presents Scenes from the Stone Age: The Cave Paintings of Lascaux through Sept. 8.
 
Hyde Park Art Center (5020 S. Cornell Ave., Chicago/ 773-324-5520/hydeparkart. org) presents Jeremiah Hulsebos Spofford: Hall of Khan.
 
Illinois Holocaust Museum and Education Center (9603 Woods Drive, Skokie/ 847-967-4800/ilholocaust museum.org) presents Fire in My Heart: The Story of Hannah Senesh through Sept. 18.
 
International Museum of Surgical Science (1524 N. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/ 312-642-6502/imss.org) presents Surgicogenomics: Genes and Stem Cells in Surgery.
 
Intuit: The Center for Intuitive and Outsider Art (756 N. Milwaukee Ave., Chicago/ 312-243-9088/ art.org) presents Beyond Influence: the Art of Little City through Aug. 31.
 
Kohl Children’s Museum of Greater Chicago (2100 Patriot Blvd., Glenview/ 847-832-6600/kohlchildrensmuseum.org) presents Spin through Sept. 1.
  
LUMA, Loyola University Museum of Art (820 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-915-6394/luc. edu/luma) presents Andrea Samelson: Cosmologies, July 20-Oct. 27.
  
Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art,
Northwestern University (40 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston/847-491-4000/
blockmuseum. northwestern. edu) presents Blacklisted: William Propper’s Capriccios through Aug. 11.
 
Mitchell Museum (3001 Central St., Evanston/847-475-1030/mitchellmuseum. org) presents Another View of American Indian Fine Art.
 
Morton Arboretum (4100 Illinois Route 53, Lisle/630-968-0074/mortonarb.org) Outdoor tree museum of 1700 acres including specialty gardens.
 
Museum of Contemporary Art (220 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago/312-280-2660/ mca chicago.org) presents Amalia Pica through Aug. 11.
 
Museum of Contemporary Photography (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-663-5554/ mocp.org) presents Spectator Sports through July 3.
  
Museum of Science and Industry (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-663-5554/ msichicago.org) presents Animal Inside Out through Sept. 2.
  
Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum (2430 N. Cannon Drive, Chicago/773-755- 5100/ chias.org) presents Food: The Nature of Eating through Sept. 8.
  
The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago (5811 S. Ellis Avenue, Chicago 773-702-8670/renaissance society. org) presents William Pope. L; Forlesen through June 23.
 
Smart Museum of Art (5550 S. Greenwood Ave., Chicago/773-702-0200/ smartmuseum.
 com) presents Other Modernisms: Serge Charchoune (1889-1975) through Aug. 25.
 
Spertus Museum (610 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-322-1700/spertus.edu/ museum) presents Voices & Visions through Aug. 11.

THEATRE

 
Apollo Theater (2540 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-935-6100/apollochicago.com) presents Million Dollar Quartet.
  American Theater Company (1909 W. Byron St./Chicago/773-409-4125/ atcweb. org) presents Speech and Debate through June 23.
 
Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University (50 E. Congress Parkway, Chicago/ 800-982-ARTS/auditorium theatre.com) presents Summer Solstice, June 20.
  
Briar Street Theater (3133 N. Halsted Street, Chicago/773-348-4000/blueman. com) presents a new and updated Blue Man Group showcasing technogeek ingenuity.
 
Chicago Theatre (175 N. State Street/ 312-902-1500/thechicagotheatre.com) presents George Benson & Boney James, June 21.
  
Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy   Pier (800 E. Grand Ave., Chicago/ 312-595-5600/ chicagoshakes.com) presents Shrek the Musical, July 13-Sept. 1.
  
Court Theatre (5535 S. Ellis Ave., Chicago/ 773-753-4472/CourtTheatre.org) pesents Tartuffe through July 14.
  
Drury Lane Theatre (100  Drury Lane, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook, 630-530- 0111/ drurylaneoakbrook.com) presents Boeing Boeing through Aug. 4.
 
Goodman Theatre (170 N. Dearborn St., Chicago/312-443-3800/goodmantheatre. org) presents The Jungle Book, June 21-Aug. 4.
  
Harris Theater (205 E. Randolph St., Chicago 312-334-7777/harristheaterchicago. org) presents Chicago Regional Dance Festival, June 23.
 
Lookingglass Theatre (821 N. Michigan Ave, Chicago/312-377- 0665/lookingglasstheatre.org) presents Big Lake, Big City, beginning June 19.
 
Marriott Theatre (10 Marriott Drive, Lincolnshire/847-634-0200/marriotttheatre. com) presents I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change through Aug. 11.
 
Mercury Theatre (3745 N. Southport Ave., Chicago/773-325-1700/mercurytheatre chicago.com) presents The Color Purple, Aug. 14- Oct. 27.
  
Northlight Theatre (9501 Skokie Blvd., Skokie/847-673-6300/northlight.org) presents 4000 Miles, Sept. 14-Oct. 20.
 
Raven Theatre Company (6157 N. Clark St, Chicago/773-338-2177/raventheatre. com) presents Brighton Beach Memoirs through June 29.
 
A Red Orchid Theatre (1531 N. Wells St, Chicago/312-943-8722/aredorchidtheatre. org) presents Simpatico, July 14-Aug. 25.
  
Royal George Theatre (1641 North Halsted, Chicago/312-988-9000/royalgeorgetheatre. com) presents Late Night Catechism/  Nuns/Holy Night.
 
Steppenwolf Theatre Company (1650 N. Halsted St., Chicago/312-335-1650/steppenwolf. org) presents Belleville, June 27-Aug. 25.
  
TimeLine Theatre (615 W. Wellington, Chicago/773-281-8463/timelinetheatre. com) presents Blood and Gifts through July 28.
 
Victory Gardens (2433 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-871-3000/victorygardens.org) presents Mojada, July 12-Aug. 11.
 
Writers’ Theatre (664 Vernon Ave, Glencoe/847-242-6000/writerstheatre.org) presents Yellow Moon through Aug. 4.

GALLERIES

Ann Nathan Gallery (212 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-664-6622/annnathangallery. com) presents contemporary realism in paintings, sculpture, and unique functional furniture.
  
The Arts Club of Chicago (201 E. Ontario, Chicago/312-787-3997/artsclub chicago. com) presents David LaSalle through Aug. 10.
 
Carrie Secrist Gallery (835 W. Washington Blvd,, Chicago/312-491-0917/secristgallery. com) presents Carson Fisk-Villori, Oct. 19-Dec. 7.
 
Carl Hammer Gallery (740 N. Wells Street, Chicago/312-266-8512/HammerGallery.com) presents Amy Laskin, Garden Goddesses through June 29.
 
Catherine Edelman Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/edelmangallery.com) presents Michael Kenna through July 6.
 
Douglas Dawson Gallery (400 N. Morgan, Chicago/312-226-7975/douglasdawson. com) presents non-western art including textiles, sculpture and vessels.
 
Gallery KH (311 W. Superior  Street, Chicago/312-642-0202/gallerykh.com) presents Francine Turk, A 10 Year Retrospective.
 
Jean Albano Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-440-0770/jeanalbano gallery.com) presents Terri Zupanc through June 29.
 
Judy A Saslow Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/312-943-0530/jsaslowgallery.com) presents outside and contemporary art.
 
Ken Saunders Gallery (230 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-573-1400/kensaundersgallery.com) presents Sidney Hutter through July 2.
 
Linda Warren Gallery (1052 W. Fulton Market, Chicago/312-432-9500/lindawarren gallery. com) presents Hollis Brown Thornton; Jon Waldo.
  
Maya Polsky Gallery (215 W. Superior St./312-440-0055/mayapolskygallery.com) presents Chen Xiaowei Beyond the Clouds through June 30.
 
Perimeter Gallery (210 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-266-9473/perimetergallery.com) presents Rhonda Gates.
 
Printworks Gallery (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-664-9407/printworkschicago. com) presents Audrey Niffeneger through 17.
 
Rhona Hoffman Gallery (118 N. Peoria, Chicago, 312-455-1990/rhoffmangallery.
com) presents Gordon Matta-Clark.
 
Richard Gray Gallery (875 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 2503, Chicago/312-642-8877/ richardgraygallery.com) presents Jaume Plense.
 
Roy Boyd Gallery (739 N. Wells, Chicago/312-642-1606/royboydgallery.com) presents sculpture through July 16.
  
Russell Bowman Art Advisory (311 W. Superior, Chicago/312-751-9500/bowmanart. com) presents Thomas Nozkowski through June 15.
  
Schneider Gallery (230 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-988-4033/schneidergallery.scom) presents Surface Tension, July 5-Aug 31.
 
Zolla/Lieberman Gallery Inc. (325 W. Huron Street, Chicago/312-944-1990/zolla  liebermangallery.com) presents John Buck, Hunter Buck through Aug. 16.

SPECIAL EVENTS

BMW Championship Conway Farms Golf Course, Lake Forest,  September 9-15. The 70 best-rankded players of the FedExCup ranking participate in the third playoff tournament of the PGA TOUR. BMWChampionshipUSA. com.  847-724-4600.
   
Catholic Charities Golf Invitational  July 24 at Cog Hill Golf and Country Club, 12294 S. Archer Ave., Lemont, Dubsdread, Ravines, and Courses 1 & 3. Call 312-948-6797. fash@ catholic charities.net.
   
Encompass Championship The Encompass Championship marks the return of Champions Tour Golf to the Chicago area June 17-23, Catch all the tournament action at North Shore Country Club in Glenview. encompasschampionship.com. 888-302-5446.




Published: June 15, 2013
Issue: Summer 2013 Issue