72
  • Emailarticle
  • Writecomment

December 2013 - January 2014 Chicago Art, Culture, and Events

By CHICAGO LIFE
MUSEUMS

   Adler Planetarium (1300 S. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/312-922-7827/adlerplanetarium.org) presents Cosmic Wonder; Welcome to the Universe.
   Art Institute of Chicago (111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-43600/artic.edu) presents When the Greeks Ruled Egypt, through July 27.
   Cantigny Park (1s151 Winfield Rd.,  Wheaton/630-668-5161/Cantigny.org) presents gardens, McCormick Museum, First Division Museum and golf on 500 acres.
  Chicago Botanic Garden (1000 Lake Cook Rd., Glencoe/ 847-835-5440/Chicago/ botanic.org) presents 24 spectacular gardens on 385 acres. Take the Grand Tour—a narrated 35-minute tram tour of the garden. Wonderland Express runs through Jan. 5.
   Chicago Cultural Center (78 E. Washington St., Chicago/312-744-6630/explore chicago.org) presents free exhibitions and events.
  Chicago History Museum (1601 N. Clark, Chicago/312-642-4600/chicagohs. org) presents Inspiring Beauty: 50 Years of Ebony Fashion Fair, through Jan. 5.
   DePaul Art Museum (935 W. Fullerton, Chicago/museums.dePaul. edu/exhibitions/ 773-325-7506) presents The Sochi Project: An Atlas of War and Tourism in the Caucasus, Jan. 9-Mar. 3.
   Driehaus Museum (40 East Erie/312-482-8933/driehausmuseum.org) presents one of the grandest residential buildings of 19th century Chicago. Louis Comfort Tiffany: Treasures from the Driehaus Collection, through June 29.
   Field Museum (1400 S. Lake Shore Dr., Chicago/ 312-922-9410/fieldmuseum.org) presents Opening the Vaults: Wonders of the 1893 World’s Fair, through Sept. 7.
   Hyde Park Art Center (5020 S. Cornell Ave., Chicago/ 773-324-5520/hydeparkart. org) presents A Study in Midwest Appropriation, through Jan. 12.
   Illinois Holocaust Museum and Education Center (9603 Woods Drive, Skokie/ 847-967-4800/ilholocaustmuseum.org) presents Keep Calm and Carry On: Textiles on the Home Front in WWII Britain, through Jan. 26.
  International Museum of Surgical Science (1524 N. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/ 312-642-6502/imss.org) presents Surgicogenomics: Genes and Stem Cells in Surgery.
  Intuit: The Center for Intuitive and Outsider Art (756 N. Milwaukee Ave., Chicago/ 312-243-9088/ art.org) presents It Takes a Hard Heart: The Life Work of Eddie Harris, through Dec. 28.
    Kohl Children’s Museum of Greater Chicago (2100 Patriot Blvd., Glenview/ 847-832-6600/kohlchildrensmuseum.org) presents Storyland, through Jan. 6.
    Lincoln Park Zoo, (2400 N. Cannon Drive/312-742-2000/ www.lpzoo.org) presents ZooLights, Dec. 6-8, Dec. 13-23 and Dec. 26- Jan. 5 from 5-9 p.m.
   LUMA, Loyola University Museum of Art (820 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-915-6394/luc. edu/luma) presents Art and Faith of the Creche: The Collection of James and Emilia Govan, through Jan. 12.
   Mary Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University (40 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston/847-491-4000/
blockmuseum.northwestern. edu) is closed due to unexpected facility repairs. It will reopen
Jan. 17.
  Mitchell Museum of the American Indian (3001 Central St., Evanston/ 847-475-1030/mitchellmuseum. org) presents Changing Views of American Indian Fine Art.
  Morton Arboretum (4100 Illinois Route 53, Lisle/630-968-0074/mortonarb.org) Outdoor tree museum of 1700 acres including
specialty gardens. The Arboretum presents Illumination, a mile of vivid electric colors with interactive activities, through Jan. 4.
  Museum of Contemporary Art (220 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago/312-280-2660/ mca chicago.org) presents City Self, through
April 13.
  Museum of Contemporary Photography (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-663-5554/ mocp.org) presents Of Walking, through Dec. 22.
   Museum of Science and Industry (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-663-5554/ msichicago.org) presents Christmas Around the World and Holidays of Light, through Jan. 5.
   National Museum of Mexican Art (1852 West 19th St./Chicago/312-738-1503/nationalmuseumofmexicanart.org) presents Outside In, through Dec. 22.
   Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum (2430 N. Cannon Drive, Chicago/773-755-5100/ naturemuseum.org) presents Animal Secrets.
   The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago (5811 S. Ellis Avenue, Chicago 773-702-8670/renaissance society. org) presents Suicide Narcissus, through
Dec. 15.
  Smart Museum of Art (5550 S. Greenwood Ave., Chicago/773-702-0200/ smartmuseum. uchicago.edu) presents State of Mind: New California Art Circa 1970, through Jan. 12.
  Spertus Museum (610 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-322-1700/spertus.edu/ museum) presents Woof and Drash. Weaving the Jewish Experience, through Feb. 23.

THEATRE

  Apollo Theater (2540 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-935-6100/apollochicago.com) presents Million Dollar Quartet through
Mar. 30.
  Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University (50 E. Congress Parkway, Chicago/800-982-ARTS/auditorium theatre.com) presents Joffrey Ballet: The Nutcracker, through Dec. 28.
   Briar Street Theater (3133 N. Halsted Street, Chicago/773-348-4000/blueman. com) presents a new and updated Blue Man Group showcasing technogeek ingenuity.
  Chicago Theatre (175 N. State Street/312-902-1500/thechicagotheatre.com) presents Jerry Seinfeld, Dec. 13-14.
  Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier (800 E. Grand Ave., Chicago/ 312-595-5600/ chicagoshakes.com) presents The Merry Wives of Windsor, through
Jan. 19.
  Court Theatre (5535 S. Ellis Ave., Chicago/  773-753-4472/CourtTheatre.org) presents Seven Guitars Jan. 9-Feb. 9.
   Drury Lane Theatre (100  Drury Lane, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook, 630-530- 0111/ drurylaneoakbrook.com) presents Hello Dolly!, through Jan. 5.
  Goodman Theatre (170 N. Dearborn St., Chicago/312-443-3800/goodmantheatre. org) presents A Christmas Carol, through
Dec. 28.
   Harris Theater (205 E. Randolph St., Chicago 312-334-7777/harristheaterchicago. org) presents Winter Series: Hubbard Street Dance Chicago, Dec. 12-15. Mary Wilson with guests The Four Tops, Dec. 23-Jan. 5.
  Lookingglass Theatre (821 N. Michigan Ave, Chicago/312-377- 0665/lookingglasstheatre.org) presents The Little Prince, through Feb. 2.
  Marriott Theatre (10 Marriott Drive, Lincolnshire/847-634-0200/marriotttheatre. com) presents The Nutcracker, through Dec. 28
  Mercury Theatre (3745 N. Southport Ave., Chicago/773-325-1700/mercurytheatre chicago.com) presents The Christmas Schooner, through Dec. 29.
   Northlight Theatre (9501 Skokie Blvd., Skokie/847-673-6300/northlight.org) presents Detroit ’67, through Dec. 15.
  Raven Theatre Company (6157 N. Clark St, Chicago/773-338-2177/raventheatre. com) presents Sherlock Holmes and the Case of the Christmas Goose, Dec. 13-29.
  A Red Orchid Theatre (1531 N. Wells St, Chicago/312-943-8722/aredorchidtheatre. org) presents Solstice, Jan. 9-Feb. 23.
   Royal George Theatre (1641 North Halsted, Chicago/312-988-9000/royalgeorgetheatre. com) presents Old Jews Telling Jokes through Feb. 16.
  Steppenwolf Theatre Company (1650 N. Halsted St., Chicago/312-335-1650/steppenwolf. org) presents Tribes, through Feb. 9.
   TimeLine Theatre (615 W. Wellington, Chicago/773-281-8463/timelinetheatre. com) presents The Normal Heart, through Dec. 22.
  Victory Gardens Theater (2433 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-871-3000/victorygardens.org) presents The Gospel of Lovingkind- ness, Feb. 28-Mar. 30.
  Writers’ Theatre (664 Vernon Ave, Glencoe/847-242-6000/writerstheatre.org) presents Port Authority, through Feb. 16.

GALLERIES


  Andrew Bae Gallery (300 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-335-8601/andrewbaegallery.com) presents Timeless Evanescence: Young June Lew.
  Ann Nathan Gallery (212 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-664-6622/annnathangallery. com) presents contemporary realism in paintings, sculpture, and unique functional furniture.
   The Arts Club of Chicago (201 E. Ontario, Chicago/312-787-3997/artsclub chicago. com) presents Josiah McElheny, through
Dec. 13.
  Carrie Secrist Gallery (835 W. Washington Blvd,, Chicago/312-491-0917/secristgallery. com) presents Carson Fisk-Vittori Women Weed & Weather, through Jan. 4.
   Carl Hammer Gallery (740 N. Wells Street, Chicago/312-266-8512/HammerGallery.com) presents David Sharpe: New Work, through Dec. 21.
    Catherine Edelman Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/edelmangallery. com) presents Gustavo Lacerda: Albinos, through Jan. 4.
    Jean Albano Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-440-0770/jeanalbano gallery.com) presents Mindy Weisel: Not Neutral, through Dec. 28.
  Judy A Saslow Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/312-943-0530/jsaslowgallery.com) presents Mark Paluch; Gerard Cambon.
   Ken Saunders Gallery (230 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-573-1400/marxsaunders.com) presents Stephen Powell: Zoom In; Matthew Cummings: Moons and Meteors.
   Packer Schopf Gallery (942 W. Lake, Chicago/312-226-8984/packergallery.com) presents Renee Mcginnis-The Girls; Peggy Mcnamara-Depiction; Deborah Simon-New Work; Cathie Bleck-frAGILITY through Dec. 28.
   Perimeter Gallery (210 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-266-9473/perimetergallery.com) presents Toshiko Takaezu: Selected Master Works; Robert Hudson: Masks, through
Dec. 31.
    Printworks Gallery (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-664-9407/printworkschicago. com) presents Carole Harmel and Lialia Kuchma, through Jan. 14.
   Rhona Hoffman Gallery (118 N. Peoria, Chicago, 312-455-1990/rhoffmangallery.com) presents Carrie Mae Weems; Anne Wilson.
   Richard Gray Gallery (875 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 2503, Chicago/312-642-8877/ richardgraygallery.com) presents David Hockney: The Thrill is Spatial, through Jan. 11.
   Roy Boyd Gallery (739 N. Wells, Chicago/  312-642-1606/royboydgallery.com) presents Group Show, Dec. 13-Jan. 3; Leslie Wolfe: PURSEverance, Jan. 10-Feb. 15.
   Russell Bowman Art Advisory (311 W. Superior, Chicago/312-751-9500/bowmanart.
com) presents Ed Paschke Drawings, through Jan. 25.
   Schneider Gallery (230 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-988-4033/schneidergallery.com) presents Nancy Newberry & Kelly Kristin Jones: Recent Works, through Dec. 27.
   Zolla/Lieberman Gallery Inc. (325 W. Huron Street, Chicago/312-944-1990/zollaliebermangallery.com) presents Josh Garber —Playthings: New sculptures and drawings. Richard Notkin—Where Do We Go From Here?: Ceramic vessels and relief tile murals, through Dec. 21.

Published: December 07, 2013
Issue: 2013 Philanthropy Guide