72
  • Emailarticle
  • Writecomment

February 2014 - March 2014 Chicago Art, Culture, and Events

By CHICAGO LIFE
MUSEUMS

Adler Planetarium (1300 S. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/312-922-7827/adlerplanetarium.org) presents Astronomy and Culture.
  
Art Institute of Chicago (111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-443-3600/artic.edu) presents When the Greeks Ruled Egypt, through July 27.
  
Cantigny Park (1s151 Winfield Rd., Wheaton/630-668-5161/Cantigny.org) presents gardens, McCormick Museum, First Division Museum and golf on 500 acres.
 
Chicago Botanic Garden (1000 Lake Cook Rd., Glencoe/ 847-835-5440/Chicago/ botanic.org) presents 24 spectacular gardens on 385 acres. Take the Grand Tour—a narrated 35-minute tram tour of the garden. The Orchid Show continues through Mar. 16.
  
Chicago Cultural Center (78 E. Washington St., Chicago/312-744-6630/explore chicago.org) presents free exhibitions and events.
 
Chicago History Museum (1601 N. Clark, Chicago/312-642-4600/chicagohs. org) presents SIAM: The Queen and the White City, through Mar. 2.
  
DePaul Art Museum (935 W. Fullerton, Chicago/museums.dePaul. edu/exhibitions/ 773-325-7506) presents The Sochi Project: An Atlas of War and Tourism in the Caucasus, through Mar. 3.
  
Driehaus Museum (40 East Erie/312-482-8933/driehausmuseum.org) presents one of the grandest residential buildings of 19th century Chicago. Louis Comfort Tiffany: Treasures from the Driehaus Collection, through June 29.
  
Field Museum (1400 S. Lake Shore Dr., Chicago/ 312-922-9410/fieldmuseum.org) presents Opening the Vaults: Wonders of the 1893 World’s Fair, through Sept. 7.
  
Hyde Park Art Center (5020 S. Cornell Ave., Chicago/ 773-324-5520/hydeparkart. org) presents Not Just Another Pretty Face, through Mar. 30.
  
Illinois Holocaust Museum and Education Center (9603 Woods Drive, Skokie/ 847-967-4800/ilholocaustmuseum.org) presents Helen Suzman: Fighter for Human Rights, through April 20.
 
International Museum of Surgical Science (1524 N. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/ 312-642-6502/imss.org) presents Surgicogenomics: Genes and Stem Cells in Surgery.
 
Intuit: The Center for Intuitive and Outsider Art (756 N. Milwaukee Ave., Chicago/ 312-243-9088/ art.org) presents self-taught and outsider art with world class exhibitions.
   
Kohl Children’s Museum of Greater Chicago (2100 Patriot Blvd., Glenview/ 847-832-6600/kohlchildrensmuseum.org) presents Eggs to Chicks, Mar. 19-May13.
  
LUMA, Loyola University Museum of Art (820 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-915-6394/luc. edu/luma) presents Elegant Enigmas: the Art of Edward Gorey.  
  
Mary Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University (40 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston/847-491-4000/blockmuseum. northwestern. edu) presents The Left Front: Radical Art in the “Red Decade,” 1929-1940.
  
Mitchell Museum of the American Indian (3001 Central St., Evanston/ 847-475-1030/mitchellmuseum. org) presents Cultural Identities: Mixed Blood.
  
Morton Arboretum (4100 Illinois Route 53, Lisle/630-968-0074/ mortonarb.org) Outdoor tree museum of 1700 acres including specialty gardens. Take a 1 hour narrated tram tour of woodlands, wetlands, and prairie.
  
Museum of Contemporary Art (220 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago/312-280-2660/ mca chicago.org) presents William J. O’Brien, through May 18.
  
Museum of Contemporary Photography (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-663-5554/ mocp.org) presents Archive State, through April 6.
  
Museum of Science and Industry (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-663-5554/ msichicago.org) presents Treasures of the Walt Disney Archives, through May 4
 
National Museum of Mexican Art (1852 West 19th St./Chicago/312-738-1503/nationalmuseumofmexicanart.org) presents exhibitions from ancient Mesoamerican civilizations to contemporary artistic expression.  
 
Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum (2430 N. Cannon Drive, Chicago/773-755-5100/  naturemuseum.org) presents Animal Secrets.
  
The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago (5811 S. Ellis Avenue, Chicago 773-702-8670/renaissance society. org) presents Teen Paranormal Romance, Mar. 9-April 13.
 
Smart Museum of Art (5550 S. Greenwood Ave., Chicago/773-702-0200/ smartmuseum. uchicago.edu) presents Inspired by the Opera: Contemporary Chinese Photography and Video, through June 15.
 
Spertus Museum (610 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-322-1700/spertus.edu/ museum) presents Woof and Drash. Weaving the Jewish Experience, through Feb. 23

THEATRE
 
American Theater Company (1909 W. Byron St., Chicago/atcweb.org) presents Sons of the Prophet, through Mar. 9.
 
Apollo Theater (2540 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-935-6100/apollochicago.com) presents Million Dollar Quartet through Mar. 30.
 
Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University (50 E. Congress Parkway, Chicago/ 800-982-ARTS/auditorium theatre.com) presents Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, Feb. 28-Mar. 9.
  
Black Ensemble Theater (4450 N. Clark St., Chicago/773-769-4451/ticketmaster.com) presents Chicago’s Golden Soul, through Mar. 30.  
  
Briar Street Theater (3133 N. Halsted Street, Chicago/773-348-4000/blueman. com) presents a new and updated Blue Man Group showcasing technogeek ingenuity.
 
Chicago Theatre (175 N. State Street/312-902-1500/thechicagotheatre.com) presents Experience Hendrix, Mar. 14.
 
Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier (800 E. Grand Ave., Chicago/ 312-595-5600/ chicagoshakes.com) presents Gypsy, through Mar. 23.
 
Court Theatre (5535 S. Ellis Ave., Chicago/773-753-4472/CourtTheatre.org) presents Water by the Spoonful, Mar. 6-April 6.
  
Drury Lane Theatre (100 Drury Lane, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook, 630-530- 0111/ drurylaneoakbrook.com) presents Young Frankenstein, through Mar. 6
 
Goodman Theatre (170 N. Dearborn St., Chicago/312-443-3800/goodmantheatre. org) presents Venus in Fur, starting Mar. 8.
  
Harris Theater (205 E. Randolph St., Chicago 312-334-7777/harristheaterchicago. org) presents Hubbard Street Dance Chicago, Mar. 13-16
 
Lookingglass Theatre (821 N. Michigan Ave, Chicago/312-377- 0665/lookingglasstheatre.org) presents In the Garden: A Darwinian Love Story, April 16-June 15.
 
Marriott Theatre (10 Marriott Drive, Lincolnshire/847-634-0200/marriotttheatre. com) presents Cabaret, through Mar. 16.
 
Mercury Theatre (3745 N. Southport Ave., Chicago/773-325-1700/mercurytheatre chicago.com) presents Into the Woods, through Mar. 30.
  
Northlight Theatre (9501 Skokie Blvd., Skokie/847-673-6300/northlight.org) presents Chapatti, Mar. 7-April 13.
 
Profiles Theatre (4147 N. Broadway, Chicago/773-549-1815/profilestheatre.org) presents Gidion’s Knot, through Mar. 9.
 
Raven Theatre Company (6157 N. Clark St, Chicago/773-338-2177/raventheatre. com) presents Good Boys and True, Mar. 16-May 3.
 
A Red Orchid Theatre (1531 N. Wells St, Chicago/312-943-8722/aredorchidtheatre. org) presents Solstice, through Feb. 23.
  
Royal George Theatre (1641 North Halsted, Chicago/312-988-9000/royalgeorgetheatre. com) presents Old Jews Telling Jokes.
 
Steppenwolf Theatre Company (1650 N. Halsted St., Chicago/312-335-1650/steppenwolf. org) presents Russian Transport, through May 11.
  
TimeLine Theatre (615 W. Wellington, Chicago/773-281-8463/timelinetheatre. com) presents The How and the Why, through April 6.
 
Victory Gardens Theater (2433 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-871-3000/victorygardens.org) presents The Gospel of Lovingkindness, Feb. 28-Mar. 30.
 
Writers’ Theatre (664 Vernon Ave, Glencoe/847-242-6000/writerstheatre.org) presents Hedda Gabler, through Mar. 16.

GALLERIES
 
Andrew Bae Gallery (300 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-335-8601/andrewbaegallery.com) presents contemporary Asian art, primarily with ties to Korea, Japan and China.
  
Ann Nathan Gallery (212 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-664-6622/annnathangallery. com) presents contemporary realism in paintings, sculpture, and unique functional furniture.
   
The Arts Club of Chicago (201 E. Ontario, Chicago/312-787-3997/artsclubchicago. com) presents Emilie Charmy, Feb. 27-May 17.         
  
Carrie Secrist Gallery (835 W. Washington Blvd, Chicago/312-491-0917/secristgallery. com) presents Derek Chan, Mar. 15- April 16.
  
Carl Hammer Gallery (740 N. Wells Street, Chicago/312-266-8512/HammerGallery.com) presents Marcos Bontempo through Mar. 29.
   
Catherine Edelman Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/edelmangallery. com) presents Jeffrey Wolin, through Mar. 1.
   
Jean Albano Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-440-0770/jeanalbano gallery.com) presents Infinite Realities: new work by Alfredo Salazar-Caro, Mar. 7-April 26.
 
Judy A Saslow Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/312-943-0530/jsaslowgallery.com) presents French outsider artist Michel Nedjar, opening Mar. 7.
  
Ken Saunders Gallery (230 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-573-1400/marxsaunders.com) presents the work of Steve Jensen, Adam Walson and more, Mar. 21- Apr. 30.
  
Maya Polsky Gallery (215 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-440-0055/mayapolskygallery.com) presents works on paper by John MacFarlane, Feb. 21-Mar. 30.
  
Packer Schopf Gallery (942 W. Lake, Chicago/312-226-8984/packergallery.com) presents Darrell Morris; Holly Farrell, Feb. 21-April 5.
  
Perimeter Gallery (210 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-266-9473/perimetergallery.com) presents Margaret Ponce Israel, Mar. 7-Apr. 12.
   
Printworks Gallery (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-664-9407/printworkschicago. com) presents Ken Gerleve, through Mar. 29.
  
Rhona Hoffman Gallery (118 N. Peoria, Chicago, 312-455-1990/rhoffmangallery.com) presents Deana Lawson: Mother Tongue; Derrick Adams: Borough, Feb. 28-April 5.
  
Richard Gray Gallery (875 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 2503, Chicago/312-642-8877/ richardgraygallery.com) presents modern and contemporary American and European art.
  
Roy Boyd Gallery (739 N. Wells, Chicago/ 312-642-1606/royboydgallery.com) presents a rotating Group Show through the summer.
  
Russell Bowman Art Advisory (311 W. Superior, Chicago/312-751-9500/bowmanart. com) presents Gallery Selections through 
Mar. 29.
  
Schneider Gallery (230 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-988-4033/schneidergallery.com) presents Lynn Savile and Reuben through Mar. 1.
  
Zolla/Lieberman Gallery Inc. (325 W. Huron Street, Chicago/312-944-1990/zollaliebermangallery.com) presents works by Michael Nakoneczny and Robert J. Russell, Feb. 21 - Mar.26.

Published: February 22, 2014
Issue: Winter 2014 Issue