72
  • Emailarticle
  • Writecomment

April 2014 - May 2014 Chicago Art, Culture, and Events

By CHICAGO LIFE
ARTS & EVENTS

Museums

Adler Planetarium (1300 S. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/312-922-7827/
adlerplanetarium. org) presents Saving Time: Collecting and Preserving Sundials.
  
Art Institute of Chicago (111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-443-3600/artic.edu) presents Christopher Wool, through May 11.
  
Cantigny Park (1s151 Winfield Rd., Wheaton/630-668-5161/Cantigny.org) presents gardens, McCormick Museum, First Division Museum and golf on 500 acres.
 
Chicago Botanic Garden (1000 Lake Cook Rd., Glencoe/ 847-835-5440/Chicago/ botanic. org) presents 24 spectacular gardens on 385 acres. Take the Grand Tour—a narrated 35-minute tram tour of the garden.
  
Chicago Cultural Center (78 E. Washington St., Chicago/312-744-6630/explorechicago.org) presents free exhibitions and events.
 
Chicago History Museum (1601 N. Clark, Chicago/312-642-4600/chicagohs. org) presents Vivian Maier’s Chicago, through summer.
  
DePaul Art Museum (935 W. Fullerton, Chicago/museums.dePaul. edu/exhibitions/ 773-325-7506) presents Dawoud Bey: Portraits in Context, through June 15.
  
Driehaus Museum (40 East Erie/312-482-8933/driehausmuseum.org) presents one of the grandest residential buildings of 19th century Chicago. Louis Comfort Tiffany: Treasures from the Driehaus Collection, through June 29.
  
Field Museum (1400 S. Lake Shore Dr., Chicago/ 312-922-9410/fieldmuseum.org) presents Opening the Vaults: Wonders of the 1893 World’s Fair, through Sept. 7.
  
Hyde Park Art Center (5020 S. Cornell Ave., Chicago/ 773-324-5520/hydeparkart. org) presents John Preus: The Beast.
  
Illinois Holocaust Museum and Education Center (9603 Woods Drive, Skokie/ 847-967-4800/ilholocaustmuseum.org) presents Ruth Gruber: Photojournalist, through June 1.
 
International Museum of Surgical Science (1524 N. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/ 312-642-6502/imss.org) presents Beyond Broken Bones.
  
Intuit: The Center for Intuitive and Outsider Art (756 N. Milwaukee Ave., Chicago/ 312-243-9088/ art.org) presents Lost and Found: The Search for Harry and Edna, May 9-Aug. 30.
   
Kohl Children’s Museum of Greater Chicago (2100 Patriot Blvd., Glenview/ 847-832-6600/kohlchildrensmuseum.org) presents Eggs to Chicks, through May13.
  
LUMA, Loyola University Museum of Art (820 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-915-6394/luc.edu/luma) presents Edward Gorey Returns to Chicago, through June 15.
  
Mary Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University (40 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston/847-491-4000/blockmuseum.northwestern. edu) presents The Left Front: Radical Art in the “Red Decade,” 1929-1940, through June 22.
  
Mitchell Museum of the American Indian (3001 Central St., Evanston/ 847-475-1030/mitchellmuseum. org) presents Cultural Identities: Mixed Blood, through Sept.
  
Morton Arboretum (4100 Illinois Route 53, Lisle/630-968-0074/ mortonarb.org) Outdoor tree museum of 1700 acres including specialty gardens. Take a 1 hour narrated tram tour of woodlands, wetlands, and prairie.
 
Museum of Contemporary Art (220 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago/312-280-2660/ mca chicago.org) presents William J. O’Brien, through May 18.
   
Museum of Contemporary Photography (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-663-5554/ mocp.org) presents My Florence: Photographs by Art Shay, through May 24.
  
Museum of Science and Industry (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-663-5554/ msi chicago.org) presents Treasures of the Walt Disney Archives, through May 4.
 
National Museum of Mexican Art (1852 West 19th St./Chicago/312-738-1503/nationalmuseumofmexicanart.org) presents Fragmentos: Pilar Acevedo, through July 15.
 
Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum (2430 N. Cannon Drive, Chicago/773-755-5100/  natsuremuseum.org) presents Judy Istock Butterfly Haven.
  
The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago (5811 S. Ellis Avenue, Chicago 773-702-8670/renaissance society. org) presents Christina Mackie, through June 29.
 
Smart Museum of Art (5550 S. Greenwood Ave., Chicago/773-702-0200/ smartmuseum. uchicago.edu) presents Inspired by the Opera: Contemporary Chinese Photography and Video, through June 15.

Theatre

 
American Theater Company (1909 W. Byron St., Chicago/atcweb.org) presents Hair, through June 29.
 
Apollo Theater (2540 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-935-6100/apollochicago.com) presents Million Dollar Quartet through Aug. 31.
 
Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University (50 E. Congress Parkway, Chicago/ 800-982-ARTS/auditorium theatre.com) presents The Joffrey Ballet: Romeo & Juliet, April 30-
May 11.
  
Black Ensemble Theater (4450 N. Clark St., Chicago/773-769-4451/ticketmaster.com) presents One Hit Wonders, opening May 18.

Briar Street Theater (3133 N. Halsted Street, Chicago/773-348-4000/blueman. com) presents a new and updated Blue Man Group showcasing technogeek ingenuity.
  
Chicago Theatre (175 N. State Street/312-902-1500/thechicagotheatre.com) presents Jerry Garcia Symphonic Celebration, May 20.
  
Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier (800 E. Grand Ave., Chicago/ 312-595-5600/ chicagoshakes.com) presents
Henry V, April 29-June 15.
 
Court Theatre (5535 S. Ellis Ave., Chicago/ 773-753-4472/CourtTheatre.org) presents
M. Butterfly, May 8-June 8.
  
Drury Lane Theatre (100 Drury Lane, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook, 630-530- 0111/ drurylaneoakbrook.com) presents Les
Miserables, through June 8.
 
Goodman Theatre (170 N. Dearborn St., Chicago/312-443-3800/goodmantheatre. org) presents Ask Aunt Susan, May 4-June 22.
  
Harris Theater (205 E. Randolph St., Chicago 312-334-7777/harristheaterchicago. org) presents Ballet Preljocaj: Snow White,
May 2-4.
 
Lookingglass Theatre (821 N. Michigan Ave, Chicago/312-377- 0665/lookingglasstheatre.org) presents In the Garden: A Darwinian Love Story, through June 15.
 
Marriott Theatre (10 Marriott Drive, Lincolnshire/847-634-0200/marriotttheatre. com) presents Cats, through May 25.
 
Mercury Theatre (3745 N. Southport Ave., Chicago/773-325-1700/mercurytheatre chicago.com) presents Avenue Q, through June 29.
  
Northlight Theatre (9501 Skokie Blvd., Skokie/847-673-6300/northlight.org) presents Lost in Yonkers, May 2-June 8.
 
Profiles Theatre (4147 N. Broadway, Chicago/773-549-1815/profilestheatre.org) presents Cock, through May 25.
 
Raven Theatre Company (6157 N. Clark St, Chicago/773-338-2177/raventheatre. com) presents Vieux Carre, May 6-June 28.
 
A Red Orchid Theatre (1531 N. Wells St, Chicago/312-943-8722/aredorchidtheatre. org) presents Mud Blue Sky, through June 25.
  
Royal George Theatre (1641 North Halsted, Chicago/312-988-9000/royalgeorgetheatre. com) presents Late Nite Catechism/Bible Bingo.
 
Steppenwolf Theatre Company (1650 N. Halsted St., Chicago/312-335-1650/steppenwolf. org) presents Russian Transport, through May 11.
  
TimeLine Theatre (615 W. Wellington, Chicago/773-281-8463/timelinetheatre. com) presents Juno, through July 28.
 
Victory Gardens Theater (2433 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-871-3000/victorygardens. org) presents Death and the Maiden, June 13-July 13.
  
Writers’ Theatre (664 Vernon Ave, Glencoe/847-242-6000/writerstheatre.org) presents Dance of Death, through July 20.

Galleries

Andrew Bae Gallery (300 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-335-8601/andrewbaegallery.com) presents contemporary Asian art, primarily with ties to Korea, Japan and China.
  
Ann Nathan Gallery (212 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-664-6622/annnathan gallery. com) presents contemporary realism in paintings, sculpture, and unique functional furniture.
  
The Arts Club of Chicago (201 E. Ontario, Chicago/312-787-3997/artsclubchicago. com) presents Emilie Charmy, through May 17.
  
Carrie Secrist Gallery (835 W. Washington Blvd, Chicago/312-491-0917/secristgallery. com) presents Paul Anthony Smith, May 3-June 14.
  
Carl Hammer Gallery (740 N. Wells Street, Chicago/312-266-8512/hammergallery. com) presents Mary Lou Zelazny, through May 17.
   
Catherine Edelman Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/edelmangallery. com) presents Elizabeth Ernst, May 2-July 3.
   
Galleries Sternberg  By appointment only, 312-642-1700/galleriesmauricesternberg. com) presents Louis Jaquet through May 9.
   
Jean Albano Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-440-0770/jeanalbano gallery.com) presents Infinite Realities: new work by Alfredo Salazar-Car, through April 26.
  
Judy A Saslow Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/312-943-0530/jsaslowgallery.com) presents Rebecca Kinkead, through May 31.
  
Ken Saunders Gallery (230 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-573-1400/marxsaunders.com) presents Midwest Contemporary Glass Art Group 10th Anniversary Emerging Artists Show.
  
Packer Schopf Gallery (942 W. Lake, Chicago/312-226-8984/packergallery.com) presents Ian Schneller; Anthony Adcock, through May 31.
  
Perimeter Gallery (210 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-266-9473/perimetergallery.com) presents Lia Cook, through May 30.
   
Printworks Gallery (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-664-9407/printworkschicago. com) presents Teresa James, through May 10.
  
Rhona Hoffman Gallery (118 N. Peoria, Chicago, 312-455-1990/rhoffmangallery.com) presents David Schutter: What Is Not Clear Is Not French; Susan Hefuna, through May 31.
  
Richard Gray Gallery (875 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 2503, Chicago/312-642-8877/ richardgraygallery.com) presents modern and contemporary American and European art.
  
Roy Boyd Gallery (739 N. Wells, Chicago/ 312-642-1606/royboydgallery.com) presents a rotating Group Show through the summer.
  
Schneider Gallery (230 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-988-4033/schneidergallery.com) presents Sherry Karver and Patty Carroll, May 9-June 28.
  
Zolla/Lieberman Gallery Inc. (325 W. Huron Street, Chicago/312-944-1990/zollaliebermangallery.com) presents Deborah Butterfield: New Sculptures, May 16-Aug. 21.

Published: April 25, 2014
Issue: Spring 2014 Issue